How come I can never sleep before the first day of ANYTHING…

August 30, 2005 at 4:54 am Leave a comment

is the question of the hour. I think I would have STILL been asleep, had that stupid Booger Kitty not freaked out about an hour ago, prompting Doug to get up, put food and water in the dishes and come back to bed. By that time, I was just so awake, that I couldn’t get comfy anymore, hence, I’m UP!

Today is my first day back at CSR. I’m looking forward to and dreading it all at the same time. I guess I’m still in a state of denial that I’m actually going back there to fight the parking, the pain in the neck times, ect. I’m wondering what’s going on at ARC and wondering how everyone is. I miss them dearly, and walking into the scary resource center at CSR didn’t help me the other day. I was originally planning to wear my CBU t-shirt, jeans and a pair of shades along with my funky flip flops to class today, but I can’t find my CBU shirt! I think it’s still packed somewhere. I’m totally bummed.

I’m excited for my classes, except for research. Been there, done that. Only reason I have to retake? Dang B-. This stuff makes me wonder what the other 3 School Psych/counseling people are taking this semeser at CBU. I know Dr. Crist has some sort of plan. She’s just that type, but looking at the CSR plan, it just seems like we’re all still at square 1 after a year in the program.

Thursday is my first day at Sylvan Albany. I’m mixed about this one. Why? Several reasons…
1) I need to work. That is a good thing, but as you’ll see…I’m not sure about HERE.
2) This center is SO big that the right hand seems to not know what the left is doing. I called at 10:00 yesterday, and talked to the director about my position,ect. I also talked to the ONE E.D. at that time as well, who told me there were no hours at all this month. 5 hours later, I get a call from the 2nd E.D. telling me that I was hired and that there were plenty of hours, but in 2 hour blocks, and I could start on Thursday morning, which is the last day of day hours. This is the SAME type of thing that happened at the interview. The Director went on vacation and neglected to leave my application, resume, Sylvan certification, and credential with the people (the ed directors) that were interviewing me! ARRRGGGHHH!
3) I miss my Riverside Kids. Even the ones who drove me insane. I miss my table (Drama at 8 anyone?). I miss Rachelle, Brooke and Tarin (and Vanessa too!) and the rest of the crew there. I don’t think I’ll be able to come in to Albany and look at it with fresh eyes after walking into Riverside and hearing Ray say “YO! I’ll pay you 50.00 for your iPod! It’s USED and you got it FREE!” and then telling him that he had to pay fair market value. *giggle*
Overall, I’m still in “Sylvan Riverside is so much better” mode.
4) We have to update our own books. I know how. I don’t mind…but I got SPOILED not doing it myself, unless it was an emergency. That’s just a whine. Yes, cheese will be fine. Cheddar please.
5)I don’t think the “drama” will be as fun. Come on. Where else could I leave Frank a note on his table “COME TO THE MEETING, OR SUFFER MOVAL?” Where else could I watch a security guard (who is a freak) come in and hit on one of our teachers? It was more fun than a barrel of monkeys and I loved going every day for work. I can’t say that about every place I’ve been, and I’m kinda skeptical about here.

Oh, well. It will all work itself out. I’ll be fine in a week or so, once I hit my groove. Right now, I guess I’m just longing for something familiar that I know what to expect from, other than my family and some friends. In a matter of 3 weeks, my whole environment has changed..and I’m not doing as well with it as I thought I would. Oh, well again. I’ll get over it. It will just take some time.

To all of my buddies in the Gulf States…My prayers are with you! Be safe, come back in one piece..and may the damage be minimal if there has to be any. Check in when you can. I’ll be worried until I hear from you!

Entry filed under: musings.

People really do eat the stuff..it’s not just for Asioricans anymore.. perspectives

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,810 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

August 2005
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

