Things I swore I’d never do

September 18, 2005 at 9:31 am 1 comment

When I got pregnant with Isaac, there was this laundry list of things I swore I’d never do, ever. I’ve found that some of them still stick, but others, forget it. Those are just lifesaving tactics that guarantee a few seconds of either “chore time” or just a breath.

Let’s talk about the cardinal sin (or so I thought) that I’m committing right now. I tossed a DVD in so that Isaac would sit down and watch it for a few seconds so he would stop dunking the rechargable batteries in the cats’ water and I could finish the dishes. Right now, I’m using “Finding Nemo” as a babysitter so I can get a bunch of things done before I take him with me to Lee, Mass. to the outlets. He’s sitting on the floor, in the midst of about 20 megablocks and his medical kit, mesmerized by Nemo, Marlin and Dory. In the time since I put this sucker on, I’ve finished the dishes, dried them, put them away and got the diaper bag ready for the trip today..and sent Doug to take care of my parents’ cat and put gas in my car. It’s actually kinda funny.

Another thing I SWORE I’d never do is point out things and refer to them as characters from a movie, like “Bambi” for deer. Here we go. Yesterday, we went to Petco to get some food for my African Dwarf frogs. We’re in the fish section, and I pointed out the clownfish, and said “Look, Isaac! NEMO!” There went that one. It’s just easier than saying “Look, Isaac. That is a clownfish. It’s orange and black and white.” Forget it. Nemo it is.

Hey. You have these whole lofty ideals of what a good parent does, because the media tells you that you should have those ideas. THEN, you find out the truth. There are tactics that you need because you need to preserve your sanity. The commercial for Johnson and Johnson stuff says it all. Having a baby changes everything. I think that means the delusions of what a “good parent” does.

as I’m tyiping this…Isaac opened up a box of mini donunts and got one out and is now back plopped in front of Nemo watching Bruce and the Sharks. I swear I’m going to earn my spot in parenting hell for that one.

Entry filed under: parenting hell.

Early intervention and St. Rose Grads rule! And the drama continues….

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. filodea  |  September 18, 2005 at 10:28 am

    I always swore I would never tell my kids “Because I said so!” That one went out the window when Rick was 5 or 6, I think.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,946 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

September 2005
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

