oh, oh! One more thing!

April 9, 2006 at 9:24 am 3 comments

that “whose wedding is it anyway?” show that I was watching….

line of the week…

Groom: “I’m building a chubba…chuppa…chalupa!”

wedding planner: “Ok…first off, it’s prounced CHUPA, and you’re not even Jewish. The Jew in me is not going to allow you to call the thing I walk under a Chalupa. That’s a Taco Bell Issue!”

I fell off the couch and double turned the heel of my sock I was laughing so hard. It’s almost as good as the McShits.

And Beth- so you can see this disaster of hilarity, they’re reshowing it next week.

Entry filed under: hilarity.

Kitchner stitch, here I come! another misuse of the word “chalupa”

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. knittingsheeple  |  April 10, 2006 at 3:01 am

    Oh please tell me that the wedding planner did NOT use a hard CH sound so that it sounded like “chew-pah”, because the WASP in me knows it as a “Huppah” with that gutteral H like in “Hanukah/Chanukah/Hannukah” with a sort of short u sound like “khoop-paw'” – a bit like the oo sound in book, not so much like the short u in “up.” And, I’ve heard it more with a “puh” sound at the end so “khoop – pah” (but like book, not hoop).

    I can’t believe I jsut wrote an entire paragraph on Jewish phoenics.

    ~al the gentile

    Reply
  • 2. kileigh7  |  April 10, 2006 at 6:57 am

    LOL! Al! Too funny!

    It was “Huppa” and not the other one.

    and as for Jewish Phonetics, I’ve ben told that I’m as Jewish as they come…and I’m Catholic!!!

    Reply
  • 3. anonymous  |  April 11, 2006 at 10:06 pm

    I will certainly vouch for you. . . you know a lot more about Judaism than some of the Jewish people that I know. So sad how many people probably missed the entire punch line of that show. Now I wonder when they are reshowing the episode. Hmmm. . . it will probably be on Passover during the Seder. Thanks for sharing Laura!

    –Beth
    The Jewish friend working at a Catholic school 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,900 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

April 2006
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

