Happy Birthday to my Bug

April 19, 2006 at 6:55 am 3 comments

Today, I am the mommy of a 2 year old. That statement scares me and makes me sooo glad at the same time.

2 years ago today, I waddled into Riverside Community Hospital for my induction at 8 am. 10:45 pm PDT, Isaac Aidan came into my life, with the whole left side of my body being numb, and in the only way he could…peeing. What I could not imagine at that point, in my spinal-epidural induced haze was the amazing time I’d have ahead.

NICU battles aside, it has been quite the 2 year ride. So, the only way I can describe this is in a letter…

Dear Isaac,

When you came into my life, I was just the happiest I’ve ever been. I didn’t know one little person could make all of that difference in my life. From the word “GO!” you’ve always been your own person. Take your NICU experience at CHOC for example. Night one…you KNEW those suctioning tubes weren’t supposed to be there. Neither were those IV’s. You ripped them out twice in one night, causing the nurses to groan and whine and complain that they had to bug you to put them back in. The one told me on the phone “You’ve got a fighter on your hands here.” Somehow, I knew that already. Come on, the docs had to go in and GET you.
Even then, everyone told us how absolutely adorable you were. You still are in your lovably obnoxious 2 year old way. You always had a way of making us all laugh. Your first attempt at movement, the “inchworm” crawl that you did across the old IKEA couch. You knew how to get places and get what ever you wanted. Your biggest challenge has always been the cats. Jasmine in particular. Her very fluffy tail has always made you go bananas. Booger is not so much of a challege. Yet, you still love chasing her anyway!
Right now, I can’t imagine a day that goes by without you smiling, laughing and doing something to make me proud. I love the happy bounce you give us in the morning when we come to get you up. Ok…maybe it’s not so much of a bounce any more, but more of a jump on a trampoline with some height, but the laughter and the grins that accompany it are priceless.
You have made the most amazing progress. In a few months, you went from one small word (Kitty. Figures-you never were a conformist) to a vocabulary of about 12 words, your favorite being “bye bye”, especially when you don’t want something. You even laugh when something silly happens. I have to gasp as I look back on the IV-d pincushion looking newborn that was in the crib at CHOC and whenyou first came home, and now look at you…I nearly cry. Misty hit it right on the head when I was on the phone with her the other day…WOW. She was looking at the picture of you in your Yankees hat. Yeah…the one that Nana sent you from Yankee Stadium, and bought it in “infant” size…yeah..that really fit. You were all hat and pajamas. Now…it actually fits your head! Holy cow!
I love you tons…you are my bug, my snuggle puppy, my snot-butt, and monkey all rolled into one. I wouldn’t tradeyou for anything. All of the sleepless nights, hospital visits, doctors appointments, Gymboree classes, giggles, smiles and even those crabby times. I cherish every word, even NOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! that flies out of your mouth. I love the way you think “please” will get you anything you want…and “Mine!” will too! I love hearing your “thank youuu” and when you chant “byebye” when you’re just through with something.

Happy Birthday, Bug. I love you

Love,
Mommy

Entry filed under: parenting hell.

Yet again, another Doug-ism. Hey JoJo what do you say…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mischief0617  |  April 19, 2006 at 9:06 am

    Happy Birthday, Isaac!!! You are adorable, and Kieran can’t wait for your first playdate!!!

    Reply
  • 2. anonymous  |  April 19, 2006 at 7:36 pm

    We hope that Isaac had a wonderful 2nd B-day. We can’t wait to see him this weekend.

    Laura. . . I am sitting here with tears in my eyes reading your note to Isaac. Great letter and you are so right he has come so far in the last few months. Before you know it those words will multiply once again. I love being able to say “I told you so!”

    Hugs to you for being a wonderful mommy of a sweet little two year old.

    –Beth

    Reply
  • 3. daxiegirl06  |  April 20, 2006 at 12:52 am

    Laura that is so sweet! He is such an amazing little boy. Hearing him laugh always brightens my day too. I am so happy for you that you have him in your life.
    I am really looking forward to the party on Saturday 🙂 I can’t wait to see Isaac go nuts in that place!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,716 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

April 2006
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

