See ya, Mr. Pete

July 8, 2006 at 11:43 am 8 comments

I logged into my email today before I lose my connection until Monday, and find that Beth has emailed me a link to Dave Petersen’s blog.

Why is this significant, and WHO is Dave Petersen?

1) Who- Dave Petersen (Mr. Pete for the rest of this whole thing…and what we all called him) is the Econ/PIG/Soc/anthro teacher at Albany High. The man is a legend, insane, and his classes are FULL every year, just ’cause he’s cool. he won’t even write his name out…he signs it PETE—–> and turns the arrow into a smiley face. When my friends got their National Honor Society cards and his name was written full out, we all went ‘Who?”

Mr. Pete is irreverant, no holds barred and just right there and REAL. He never told us that we were wrong, we just had to defend our opinions. Walking into his room is a no holds barred assault visually…and some days, auditorily. Bumper stickers, pictures, all over the place…and his Dead coffee mug sitting on his desk…always full. Come on, the man had a carafe sitting on the desk too! He was the McGurn of Coffee. (The real McGurn was diet coke…and that’s another story.)

I adored his class. I really did. It was my favorite way to spend 5th period my senior year. I was in with my buddies, we learned, laughed, got irritated at the world and put on “new glasses.”

The man even stole my kit kat and peanut butter cups under the guise of them being his “favorite” and “second favorite.” That story is too long to get into, but just know, looking back, it’s hilarious and the simple fact is that I’ve never had a teacher do that….and shoot me puppy dog eyes when I told him “NO!” the first time. (check the article link, and you’ll understand what makes that so funny…)

2) The significance….

Mr. Pete is retiring. I can’t think of a larger loss than Mr. Pete. He IS part of the holy trinity of social studies teachers. You started with Dugan, went through McGurn (Not O’Gurn!!!) and then ended up in Pete’s class. You made time for Pete. There wasn’t an option. It saddens me that the man who really honed my truth screaming skills will not be there to influence another generation of truth screamers. I will miss h is “Fertlity fest,” going to see movies with him at the spectrum and going to Chang’s afterward for extra credit, and I will miss his brutal honesty.

Go Pete. Go Pete!

and the only fitting goodbye for him and his personalized motorcycle helmet with his trademark signature? SEE YA MR. PETE!

How come all the good ones have to leave?

Oh…and here’s the link to an article all about the Man, the myth, the legend that is Mr. Pete.

http://timesunion.com/AspStories/story.asp?storyID=453788

Entry filed under: insanity.

A one line wonder… and we’re back live!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. daxiegirl06  |  July 8, 2006 at 10:34 pm

    HAHAHAHAHA.. McGurn NOT O’Gurn. Those were the days!

    Yeah, it is definitely a loss to AHS that Pete is retiring. I was so impressed with the story they did in the TU a while back. What an honor! I can’t think of a teacher more deserving.

    Reply
  • 2. anonymous  |  July 9, 2006 at 9:01 pm

    I feel so left out, I never took any of his classes . . . or McGurn for that matter. Oh well, I had other “interesting” people at AHS and Hackett for that matter. Oh the stories I have from Earth Science in 8th grade.

    C’est Moi 😉

    Reply
  • 3. daxiegirl06  |  July 9, 2006 at 9:46 pm

    There were lots of colorful people at Hackett! Mr. Collins in earth science, the art faculty, Antonio, Madame Nayman!

    I never took any of Pete’s classes, either by the way. I missed out on him and Dugan actually. I feel as if I have taken Pete’s classes vicariously though because so many people have told me funny stories!

    Reply
  • 4. anonymous  |  July 10, 2006 at 8:32 am

    You aren’t kidding about the people at Hackett! Mind you I never had Mr. Collins . . . you (and my brother) had him thanks to the parents in my class getting rid of the person I was stuck with.

    C’est Moi 🙂

    P.S. Congrats on being an officially licenses drug dealer now 😉

    Reply
  • 5. daxiegirl06  |  July 10, 2006 at 9:16 am

    Thank you! It feels so great to be finished 🙂

    So who was this Earth Science guy that you had?

    Reply
  • 6. anonymous  |  July 10, 2006 at 9:23 am

    Mr. O’Bremski . . . he was moved from Hackett to AHS to be closely watched by the powers that be 😉

    Reply
  • 7. daxiegirl06  |  July 10, 2006 at 1:55 pm

    OMG, you had Obremski for earth science? holy crap. then he moved to AHS, huh? well lucky me got him for 7th grade science. Someone must have moved him back to Hackett so my class could be so blessed.
    WOW, yeah. He was um, interesting..

    Reply
  • 8. anonymous  |  July 10, 2006 at 6:06 pm

    Hmmm. . . wonder if they moved him to AHS after that. I know he was at the high school while I was there. I think he showed up in my senior year, but I may be wrong.

    So did he teach you all about not standing by an elephant if they are pushing on them and yelling “Push-a, push-a!” . . . *rolling eyes*

    We learned anything but Earth Science and everything about the stupid things that he did in college.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,900 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

July 2006
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

