The heat…oh, the heat…

August 3, 2006 at 7:09 am 2 comments

Man, it’s HOT. This isn’t your average August hot..this is NASTY wet, so cal temp hot, with HUMIDITY. ICK! This is exactly what I didn’t miss living in SoCal. We had heat, but good lord, at least it was DRY. But I digress.

The heat has made people all wacky…and driving me insane. All I have to say is that thank GOD it’s my last week of work. I’m down to 2 days, including today. I’ve never been so happy to finish at a place in my entire life. Ok, Sylvan Albany was CLOSE, but not this bad. I was upset there because they kept jerking me around and deciding to change my hours at the last minute and pulling the “can I call you if I need you” routine. No, you can’t. Make up your mind!

This place is a policy laden place where you’re not allowed to do your job without someone interfering. It’s not a place where someone with a family is able to work, even when emergencies come up. The rules change from director to assistant director. Argh. But, enough on that. The reason I bring this all up, and label it with the heat is that yesterday, with the heat index of 110, I was tossed OUTSIDE with the toddlers. Joy. They were doing water play,and just as we were saying “oh, man, we need to go in…” Assistant director who never uses her brain and thinks we’re stupid comes out and says “you need to come in. It’s too hot.” THEN, she has the nerve to send me on my 5 minute break and then come and get me telling me I spent too much time on the phone with my son’s school. Yeah, right. There are people who take a 5 minute break an turn it into a 15 minute break with smoking, and phone calls and bathroom. No one says a word there. Blah. But, again…2 more days including today.

THEN, I swear, the heat got to my coordinator’s brain. She decided to go off the deep end at ECEC over something that she pushed. That’s a whole nother post there….but I swear…this heat index has made her more loopy than she already is! Save me.

Then, the bus. Yes, the bus AGAIN. I swear the heat is getting to the drivers and making them idiots. You do NOT have a 2 year old standing outside and THEN have the school call us and tell us yo’re going to be 30 minutes late. blah.

Now, I’m on my way to my 2nd to last day of work. I hav eto go get Isaac ready and then go. We’re stopping on the way. I need a damn coolata. I need something to help me make it through today.

Entry filed under: annoyances.

Oh, and one more thing… Party over in Niskayuna!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. knittingsheeple  |  August 4, 2006 at 1:30 am

    I hear you on the awful heat. We had a record high day the other day: 118. Yipes.
    But then earlier this week (since the cold front was moving west to east) at one point it was cooler here than it was there.
    And the heat DOES make people nutty. Honestly – we stay inside for the bulk of the summer. Stay in for the summer, go out in the winter. Even with a pool, in the middle of the afternoon it’s too hot to go outside. Does your center have shade over the playground?
    What are you going to do when you’re done with this place?

    And, both the Tangerine and Pomegranate frapps at Starbucks are TAAAAAAAAASTY. As is the shaken passionfruit tea lemonade (or just the tea). I’ve been spending WAY too much money on Starbucks. I can’t go to the grocery store without the THings asking “Can we get a milkshake?” (meaning the strawberries and cream frapp)

    Reply
  • 2. knittingsheeple  |  August 4, 2006 at 3:14 pm

    seen this?
    http://yarn-monkey.blogspot.com/2006/07/are-you-ready-for-sock-wars-2006.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,891 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

August 2006
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

