SP9 Questionnare…with answers..

October 1, 2006 at 5:08 pm Leave a comment

Dear Pal,
Here is my answer to the questions posed. Have fun! I can’t wait for this to get underway!

1. What is/are your favorite yarn/s to knit with? What fibers do you absolutely *not* like?

I love natural fibers!  Whatever it is, it must be squishy! If its scratchy, it sucks automatically. Squishy means soft, and just generally comfy. I’ve got sensitive skin, so scratchy makes me break out! Railroads are OK, but no fur or feathers….allergies, ya know?

2. What do you use to store your needles/hooks in?

Ummm…good question. Right now, it’s my “Craft Ho” cabinet on the first shelf, in Addi needle holders. I really need a better system.

3. How long have you been knitting & how did you learn? Would you consider your skill level to be beginner, intermediate or advanced?

I’ve been knitting about a year, and I learned from a wonderful woman, named Karin Maag-Tamcheck at her shop, the Periwinkle sheep. She has since closed the shop, but she’s amazing. She’s walked me through countless screw ups and the first set of socks I ever made! I consider myself a strong intermediate, only because I’m petrified of making a sweater…and I’m seriously the ADD knitter or sp. ed knitter, because I get bored so quickly. Rows of stockinette don’t appeal to me to knit!

4. Do you have an Amazon or other online wish list?

Scrapbook.com and sizzix.com I should really get on Amazon and make one…I really should. Both lists are under Kileigh7.

5. What’s your favorite scent? (for candles, bath products, etc.)

ooh…orange…satsuma…mango….cranberry….
I love, love, love spiced apple from White Candle Barn and I also love the clean linnen and terry robe from the same place.

6. Do you have a sweet tooth? Favorite candy?

I love chocolate (what self respecting woman doesn’t?) and I adore White Rabbits. NOT the strawberry or chocolate ones…the vanilla ones! Oh, and Chocolate oranges…and crunchies. Yumm.  Also, I’m a total Starbucks junkie. If a person had to pick an IV to put in themselves, it would be Jamba Juice (unfortunately, none around here for me to quench my addiction on) and Starbucks.

7. What other crafts or Do-It-Yourself things do you like to do? Do you spin?

I don’t spin, but I wish I did. I also love scrapbooking, and occasionally minor home improvement projects (like painting…Lowe’s paint department knows me by name here.) I cross stitch SOMETIMES, but it’s very rare these days. I do sew when I get the chance.

8. What kind of music do you like? Can your computer/stereo play MP3s? (if your buddy wants to make you a CD)

I’ve got super ecclectic taste. I love everything from Motown to some of the latest stuff out there. I love 80’s. That and Dave Matthews are what is rotating through my cd player these days. Occasionally, the Mash up by Jay-z and Linkin Park shows up, if that explains my taste.  Oh, and everything can play MP3’s.

9. What’s your favorite color(s)? Any colors you just can’t stand?

NO PINK! I wore it for 2 years in a school uniform, and I hate it. It makes me twitch.

I love blues, greens,purples, deep, rich colors. I’m a sucker for stripes.

10. What is your family situation? Do you have any pets?

I’m married, with a crazy 2 year old. We have 2 cats, Booger and Jasmine. Yes, her name is Booger. She earned it. We think she inhaled fumes in the car engine she was found in. Sweet, yes. Bright? Not a chance.

11. Do you wear scarves, hats, mittens or ponchos?

Don’t do the poncho thing, but LOVE scarves, hats and mittens. One can never have too many mittens.

12. What is/are your favorite item/s to knit?

Socks. Must knit socks. More socks. Love socks. Mittens too…but socks. Must make socks. More socks.

13. What are you knitting right now?

A lot of things. 1) a throw for my hubby’s cousin as a wedding gift, 2) the start of my Christmas knitting…this one’s a scarf for one of my son’s teachers. 3) SOCKS. MUST MAKE SOCKS 4) a hat for a friend’s daughter…this is the pumpkin variety. 5) a bi directional cabled scarf for a freind of mine with some Taos yarn.

14. Do you like to receive handmade gifts?

Yep! Handmade gifts RULE.

15. Do you prefer straight or circular needles? Bamboo, aluminum, plastic?

I’m a fan of both, but I love, love, love bamboo or other type of wood. They just feel right in my hands. Metal is ok, but I adore wood.

16. Do you own a yarn winder and/or swift?

Nope, but it’s on my Christmas list. In fact, it’s the only thing. I’ve asked my mom and my dh for a swift and a Nostpinde.

17. How old is your oldest UFO?

ummm….a few days…NO WAIT! It’s a shawl from April.

18. What is your favorite holiday?

Chinese New Year. No, I’m NOT Aisan in any sense of the word (except in my own mind), and my other half calls me his Asiorican. But I LOVE Chinese New Year.

19. Is there anything that you collect?

Turtles and frogs and Asian stuff. Specifically Asian Dragons.

20. Any books, yarns, needles or patterns out there you are dying to get your hands on? What knitting magazine subscriptions do you have?

Don’t have any knittng mag subscriptions, but I’m dying to get my hands on a few bag patterns. Ihave this awesome Sari Silk yarn, and I’ve got about 500 grams of it, and I hate the patterns that I’ve found so far. I’d also LOVE to get my hands on some funky mitten patterns. ALSO, I really am dying to get a set of 0 or 1 needles (dpn’s for socks) because I have this GREAT yarn from DyeNamics that really needs the tiny needles,a nd the smallest I ahve is a 2. 

yarns? Oh, heavens. any one is good, as long as it meets the “squishy” criteria.  And, I saw some really cool stuff from Blue Moon Fiber Arts (the “tube socks” and there was a hat kit…) that are just high on my want list!

21. Are there any new techniques you’d like to learn? Double knitting, and how to do socks on circulars. I’m petrified of sweaters, so if anyone has a “sweaters for the scared” thing, send it my way. Instarta would be interesting too…but again, until I master the art of the “sweaters for the scared..” I think I better just stay away from that one.

22. Are you a sock knitter? What are your foot measurements?

Yes, see above thing about making socks. It’s an obsession for me. The sad part in all of this is that I’ve never measured my food. I just kinda make them as I go, and try them on. I really should measure the foot…I really should…but I wear a us10 shoe. and oh, do I love squishy socks. Right now, I’m wearing the socks tha tkilled me from sock wars. I love my STR socks….I’m an uberdork. Love socks.

23. When is your birthday? (mm/dd)
Yes, it’s true…04/01, Chinese zodiac, Dragon.

Entry filed under: sp9.

Cable stalkers My Gym and the Corporate response

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,891 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

