Bookstore lament

October 17, 2006 at 7:34 pm 1 comment

I went to Barnes and Noble the other day to bring back some duplicate books and ones that just weren’t my taste…and exchange them for something I’d USE. 

Well, after getting my credit, and sending the boys off to play on the train table, I wandered over to the piddly craft section they have. (this is the Mohawk Commons one for anyone who cares…) I was looking for Weekend Knits and the infamous Last minute knitted gifts. I figured while I was in the section, I’d glance through Mason-Dixon and see what all the hype was about…and maybe look at the Yarn Harlot’s book too. Again..hype?

So…I’m looking and looking and looking. No sign of either book I wanted to purchase. figures. Just absolutely figures…

and then I go peeking for Mason-Dixon and Knitting rules. 

I find BOTH books…on THE TOP SHELF OF THE DAMN DISPLAY WITH NO COPIES AT A LOWER LEVEL FOR THOSE OF US WHO ARE HEIGHT CHALLENGED!!!

Not kidding. Not at all

There are two people who are blocking access to the only place I could climb or jump to get these books…so, I politely ask delusional travellers-to San Diego-to-be (DTSDTB) if I could get at the books. They then asked me if I knew anyhting about the area. I informed them that it’s freakin expensive there, but beautiful, and spend some time at the zoo, the wild animal park and make sure to hit the haunted tours. Good stuff, Maynard!
DTSDTB shifted, and I began my jump, as the gentleman (or not) of the group giggled…I went for the Harlot’s book first, with it being softcover and all.

and I decide against jumping for the hardcover Mason Dixon book.

Soo, verdict? harlot’s book, cute, but not a must-have for my shelf. 
Mason-dixon? No verdict yet, although it’s still on my amazon wish list.

Irritated at barnes and noble for not having what I want? 

COMPLETELY. 

Damn. I think I’m going to just start to order off of amazon. 

Someone tell me why I didn’t do this in the first place?

Entry filed under: annoyances, customer service.

He should so know better Hi Ho, Hi ho, it’s off to Rhinebeck I go..

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. knittingsheeple  |  October 17, 2006 at 11:57 pm

    I’ve got MD – I can bring it if you want to see it before investing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,931 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

