Burning down the house

January 19, 2007 at 9:30 pm 1 comment

My first week at work was a smashing success. Except for ONE tiny thing. Jen (the owner) and Maureen (my boss) don’t think this is a HUGE deal,but I totally feel horrible about it.

So, here’s what happened….

I brought the whirley popper to work for group snack. Everyone LOVES popcorn. How can you go wrong with the stuff? Especially WHIRLEY POP? So, we brought out our burner/hot plate and we put it on the table at circle. I gave the rules for the popper,a nd we talked about it. Hey..I work at a Montessori. this is the way we do things.

So, we’re turning the crank and we’re making the popcorn, and I pull it off the burner, turn it off, and As Ruth and Maureen are removing it, I put the pot on the rug, not thinking anything of it…and lo and behold…

THE POT STUCK TO THE RUG.

Maureen and I got the pot up and onto a carpet square. It was hilarious explaining to the kids what a “scorch mark” was.

So, I think I’m banned from cooking projects (at least in my mind) until I learn that hot pots scorch the rug.

Ruth wants to make geometric designs on the rug. SOO, I’m only as banned as I want to be.

But come on…Look at the time frame. 1 week of work….and one scorched carpet!

Entry filed under: insanity.

Grey’s Anatomy…or am I the ONLY wussie? On the list of things you’d never thought you’d hear yourself say…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. knittingsheeple  |  January 20, 2007 at 1:42 pm

    I’ll have to post about the day that I sheared a sprinkler head off in a classroom. That was far more damaging than a single scorch mark 🙂

    And, for the record: HOT POT + ACRYLIC CARPET =melting

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,796 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

