Fiber Friday

May 25, 2007 at 8:21 am 3 comments

Since a few people have asked me if I’ve given up knitting in response to a few of my latest posts, I counter with Fiber Friday to prove that I still knit (and still have issues with heel turning…).

Today’s fiber exploit is Show and tell for Hogwarts Sock Swap! This is round 1…Round 2 opens July 14th! Get over there and check it out. AND get in early if you want in…she caps the swap at 100 participants!

So, my pal is a Ravenclaw, who when asked about her preference of movie or book colors said “surprise me.”

Ok. I can do that.
I dropped a line to Adrian over at Hello Yarn and asked (ok, begged) her to dye some yarn for me for my pal.
Here’s the result…

It’s her tough sock base, which is amazingly squishy and fun to work with.

so, I sat with the yarn, and asked it what it wanted to be. It took a while, but it told me it wanted to be a pair of Broadripple socks.

so, I cast on.

What I adore about this pattern is that
1) it looks complicated, but it’s really not.
2) it’s a relatively quick knit,
3) it works well with all kinds of yarn.

I really love how this yarn in striping out.

So, since my pal’s foot is a ton smaller than mine, and I don’t know anyone who has the same foot size, I asked Booger to be a sock model.

Ok. not any better than the first shot, but hey. She’s got her picture on the blog!
So, now, I’m off to cast on the second sock, and work on the surprises that are going in this pack!

Entry filed under: fiber stuff.

It’s a small world after all… MAAAAIIIIILLLLL!!!!!!!!!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. anonymous  |  May 25, 2007 at 3:58 pm

    Nice job on the Hogwarts socks. I really like the hand-dyed yarn and the pattern you picked for that yarn!

    5 House Points to HUFFLEPUFF

    Reply
  • 2. anonymous  |  May 25, 2007 at 4:51 pm

    What a lucky Ravenclaw pal you’ve got. I love the stripes. And I’m glad we Hufflepuffs are starting to wrack up some points! -JenMuse

    Reply
  • 3. anonymous  |  May 25, 2007 at 4:53 pm

    Nice socks! that yarn looks scrumptious! -Marie P

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,773 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

