the last 2 days and project SLS

September 22, 2007 at 9:51 pm 2 comments

I should have done this a few hours ago, but I got sucked into We Are Marshall and I couldn’t break myself away from the movie. The nickel review? I loved it. Really good movie. Excellent cast…amazing TRUE story.

Oh, and since it’s raining…and my camera is in the car, I’ll post pictures when I can safely cross the lawn and not get drenched. The driveway is STILL drying…but I digress.

So, last night, I implimented plan SLS, or Save Laura’s Sanity.

All of you who are snickering and saying “there’s no hope” CAN IT.

Part of the reason I implimented this is because between all of Isaac’s medical garbage and all of Doug’s medical garbage (including the impending surgery), I’m about to go nuts. I feel like I’m nothing more than living in hospitals and running screaming from doctor to doctor. Isaac had no less than 3 appointments this week…ranging from the dentist to the orthopedic. I’ve had to sit on him through 3 different things. Oh, for joy.

So, I signed him up for Parents’ night out at Mygym. $22.00 for 3 hours of pizza, movies, drinks and general mayhem. Without me. That’s the MOST important part. Without me. So, I dropped him off at 5:30, and decided to start with dinner.

In the same strip mall as MyGym is this little hole in the wall called Mr. Fuji. I’ve been dying to try it, but with my narrow food horizion loving hubby, and really not wanting to take Isaac to a place I’ve never been, I ventured on my own. Wow. What a treat I’ve found!  I forwent my usual tempura, and got a “sushi regular” platter. Came with Miso soup (oh, yummmmyyy), Salad and the sushi. I added an Anago sushi (that’s eel for y’all who aren’t into the sushi thing. Oh, yummy. yummy…Mom says I’m insane and weird. I disagree.). They had a HUGE birthday party and were so busy working on my order that it got bumped (not intentionally) to the back of the line of orders.

Now, the big order for the birthday party that walked in was what they called their “Lover’s boat.” They had wooden serving platters made into the shape of boats filled with different kinds of Sushi. It was just breathtaking. As they were carried to the table, everyone gasped and a collective “wow” went up. These things were just works of art.

So, since I had been wating, the chef thanked me for my patience with this amazing appetizer on the house..it was a tempura whitefish with a sesame and a sweet chili sauce. mmmmmmm. Never had anything like it in all of my Asian hopping. Just amazing. It was served on a bed of cucumber strips.

Then, my sushi arrived. Sushi is art, as well as food. I’ll post a pic later. You have to see this platter to believe it. It was 5 peices of sushi and a California roll.

Then, after my leisurely dinner, I ran a few errands, and then ran over to Borders. I ran into an old friend, and we spent some time talking and I met her daughter and her husband. I was kinda bummed she didn’t meet Isaac, but come on, it was plan SLS. He was having fun and pizza, and I was being a person with no child for 3 hours!

Needless to say, we BOTH had a great time.

Today, Isaac and I got up, and got dressed and headed out to the Farmer’s market to get our fruit and veggie allotment for the week. We do the 100 mile Diet when we can. I had to explain to Doug that it didn’t mean that we had to run 100 miles as part of a diet. So, I had a list in mind when I went…Dill plant (we killed ours because we didn’t realize our kitchen didn’t have enough light), green beans, whatever fruit looked good, potatoes, a cauliflower (those suckers are MUTANTS) and whatever hit my eye.

Picture Isaac…holding a bag with a dill plant slung over his shoulder..and munching on a raw green bean. People just stood and laughed at him…and thought it was the cutest thing ever, or they asked me how I got my child to eat veggies, or looked at us weird.

we had more fun there, picking our food and Isaac exploring flowers, plants and all sorts of other goodies that the market had to offer. I think he may be my new farmer’s market buddy….

oh, we ended up getting everything on the list, plus cider donuts, corn and some green onions and broccoli that just looked too yummy to pass up.

After Farmer’s market, Isaac and I ran some errands and did a quick [pick up of McDonald’s for lunch at request of Doug. Later, Isaac and I went out. I decided as part of plan SLS, I needed a Starbucks fix.

(oh, starbucks is BOGO Sat’s and Sun’s through the end of September…yay!)

So, we wandered in to Starbucks, and Isaac and I got our coffee. Yes, I let him have decaf again today. Plus, he got a cookie. Well, as I’m waiting for my drink, he has his cookie and his coffee and finds a chaze lounge. He curls himself up in the corner, and begins munching his cookie and sipping on his coffee like he’s king of the world. The baristas could NOT stop laughing. He was just too happy. One asked him “So, how’s the cookie?”

Isaac’s response?
“Tasty!”

Where does he get these things??? WHERE??

So, plan SLS is in progress…and who knows, there may be more to come…

Entry filed under: insanity, shrimper.

more later… Making good on a promise

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ma2jenna  |  September 22, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    I am liking project SLS. I think I may have to soon implement project SSS!!

    Reply
  • 2. TheAngelForever  |  September 22, 2007 at 10:04 pm

    So, last night, I implimented plan SLS, or Save Laura’s Sanity. All of you who are snickering and saying “there’s no hope” CAN IT.

    I wasn’t going to say that! I was going to say you must have something in order to lose it. . . so HA!

    Oh and I think I know where the Tasty thing came from. Please blame Play House Disney . . . specifically Goofy on Mickey Mouse Clubhouse. NHL had been saying the same expression since they keep playing the same darn episode.

    Can’t wait to see the photos!

    C’est Moi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,773 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

