A quick update

October 10, 2007 at 6:12 pm 2 comments

Doug’s still in ICU. He’s on boatloads of drugs. When I say boatloads, I mean boatloads. He’s got 3 IV pumps going, plus a PCA.

He was extubated this morning before I left to get the boy (that means he had a breathing tube in his throat and they pulled it out.) He was thrilled about that, but he was in a foul mood before that because he discovered he had an NG tube suctioning out his stomach and intestines. He hates that worse than the vent. He wanted it out in the worst way. It was so bad, they had restraints on him, because he kept trying to pull both tubes.

When I called, he was resting comfortably. I don’t know what their definition of comfy is, but Doug’s NOT comfy. I can tell you that right now…

But I know he’s on the mend. When I told him the outlaws were flying in, he rolled his eyes and shook his head. He knows this means more agitation for him and me. Joy.

So, now, we’re in wait and see. They’ve started IV nutrition as well, as the last “food” he had was the gatorade and miralax diet.

So per the last phone call (all of 3 minutes ago), he’s off of the Oxygen mask and onto a nasal canula and doing awesome. He’s got his dilaudid back, so he’s asleep. This is a good thing. he’s barely slept for days. They got him all washed up, did a dressing change and he’s behaving himself. (I had to yell at him earlier to get him to comply. He’s mad at me (he claims he’s not, but I know he is) for making them put the restraints back on because he was pulling at things.

so, that’s the update..and here I am…back home making phone calls and just ready to collapse. I think I’m going to go and watch top model in bed tonight. I’ll get more sleep that way…

Entry filed under: family, ick.

Rough times ahead. wow. She exceeded my expectations.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ma2jenna  |  October 10, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    Again, hang in there. I am glad he seems to be doing better. I pray for you that things continue in the right direction. Lots of hugs for you all!

    Reply
  • 2. Maryanne  |  October 11, 2007 at 9:28 pm

    I’m so sorry for all that you guys have been going through 😦 But I’m glad to hear that your man seems to be doing better today. I’ll keep you in my thoughts! Get some rest 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,809 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

