What?

October 20, 2007 at 8:51 pm 2 comments

Remember this? The Tiger costume that Nana and Gampy bought Isaac for Halloween?

Well, today was the annual Niskayuna District 2 fire company open house and Halloween Party. So, I broke out the Tiger costume, because they encourage kids to dress up! Last year, Isaac’s monkey was a huge hit.

So, I get Isaac to dress himself (!) in his black long sleeve shirt and black sweatpants, and he’s just fine…and he’s playing with the ear hat for the tiger, and then I go to put the body on, and meltdown of the nuclear kind starts! Kicking, screaming, hitting, yelling “I don’t like it. I want to take it off!” I sent him to his room until he stopped fussing….and when he did, I helped him take it off. Doug and I BOTH tried to explain to him that this is his costume, that he picked it, and that he needed it for the party today, Madeline’s party next week and a few other things, and he’d get candy on Halloween with it.

All explanations were “No. No want tiger.”

Whoah. I’m confused at this point in the game.

So, finally I asked “Isaac- why don’t you like your tiger?”

He said (ready?) “It’s on my clothes.”

This I took to mean, after some consideration, that hte bag like nature of the costume and the slight “hug” to it made him feel like he was wearing his vest that he wears at school 2x/day. He was looking at his sleeves and sobbing.

So, after a lot of thought, I called Mom, explained the situation, and she reassured me that I so could NOT have anticipated this and it was not my fault and it was all OK, and decided we were going to try Old Navy and pray that they had something left at a not-too-expensive price. Kind of like the shrubberies from the Holy Grail…but I digress.

So, we headed on a few errands, with one being to the Old Navy on Balltown Road. This is only because most people go to either Crossgates or the one in Crossgates Commons. It’s easier to find clothing and what you need at the one over on Balltown. Plus, it keeps me away from the evil mall.

We head into Old Navy, and I drag Isaac back to the kids’ costumes…and notice the lovely sign that said “All Halloween 50% off.”
THERE IS A GOD.

So, I start looking for choices for Isaac in his size. I find a pirate, zebra, Kangaroo and a dinosaur. I put them in front of him, and let him choose.

I’ll let the pics from the Fire Station Halloween party do the talking…

It's a KANGAROO!

showing his costume off to the talking hydrant

putting out a fire

All buckled in...would you trust this Kangaroo to put out YOUR fire?

So, there’s my Roo!

Entry filed under: fun, insanity, parenting hell, shrimper.

Upstairs and Downstairs I got Blooged!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Robyn  |  October 20, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    That is sooooo cute. ;0)

    Reply
  • 2. TheAngelForever  |  October 20, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    Awwwwww! He’s just too cute. Love all of the fireman Roo photos. It’s also quite fitting that he picked that since Roo is one of your all time favorites.

    C’est Moi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,773 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

