Corrections

October 27, 2007 at 6:59 pm 4 comments

Some days, I wonder what makes Isaac’s world tick,a nd how he categorizes things. It really makes me laugh sometimes. Over the past few days, he’s made some “corrections” of sorts when I say something. It’s actually quite funny.

My favorite two are these:

When Doug came home from the hospital, Princess Pretendtocare sent him a stuffed dog and some flowers. Isaac promptly claimed the dog. Doug didn’t mind. Well, Isaac carried that sucker around for 2 days, and at one point, we had to go out. He brought it with him, and when we got to the store (I think it was target…) I asked him if he wanted to bring his dog with him. He said to me:

“It not a dog, Mommy. It a PUPPY.  No, no bring puppy into the store.”

I stand corrected.

The second was today. We were driving over to the ‘rents house, and I offered Isaac a pack of the Lilo and Stitch soy crisps. They come in flavors, and one is Banana. I said to him “Isaac- do you want Banana, strawberry or french toast?”

He thought about this, and was very confused. I repeated the request, dropping out the strawberry, for fear that I overloaded him….

He thought for a few more minutes, and said:
“That not a banana! Those LILO COOKIES! I want some Lilo cookies!”

I stand corrected again.

Entry filed under: parenting hell, shrimper.

Since it’s been such a crummy set of weeks… Why my sides hurt tonight

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heidi  |  October 28, 2007 at 1:33 am

    Hey your layout looks vaguely familiar . . . I just can’t place it . . . LOL

    Kids are great like that. My son takes many opportunities to point out when I say something incorrectly, especially when I am upset with him. My fav is when he pretends to not understand me because I said ONE word wrong. UHG! Too cute to wring his neck.

    You’re lucky – he is still in the way too cute to think annoying phase.

    Whoops, did that sound bitter?

    Reply
  • 2. Secret Santa  |  October 28, 2007 at 9:36 am

    OH, I can sooo relate! My boys are 9 and 12 and I STILL get that from them. But I think my all time favorite was the time I was arguing with the older one (he was maybe 4 or so) about getting his shoes on, because we were in a hurry. At first, I was gently, then urgently, asking him to get his shoes on so that we could get going. Finally, totally exasperated, I asked him why he didn’t yet have his shoes on. HE very sweetly said to me, “Mommy, they’re not SHOES, they’re SNEAKERS”. And, yes, I did lose it, I’m sorry to report. Throwing my hands in the air in total frustration, I hollered at him, “Fine! Then get your G-D sneakers on and let’s go!!”. To which he ever-so-innocently replied, “Mommy, they’re not G-D. They’re JUST sneakers”.

    Score: Child 2 Mommy 0

    Reply
  • 3. Secret Santa  |  October 28, 2007 at 9:37 am

    Oh, and I forgot to add…

    Now, we just call all sorts of things you wear on your feet “footwear”. That saves us time and arguing…LOL.

    Reply
  • 4. SereneAndNotHerd  |  October 29, 2007 at 5:03 pm

    Oh yea, we’ve gotten to this stage too with our little cookie monster.
    “Calm down! You’re such a little monkey”
    “I not monkey. I running!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,931 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

