It gets earlier every year!

November 12, 2007 at 12:37 pm 4 comments

Today, I was parusing my usual blog fodder, and I went over to Meg’s blog, you know, the one about her experiences in Rotten Customer service (hence, channeling my inner Meg…) and she was talking about how much earlier the holiday season starts. I have to agree. It gets earlier every year!

Yesterday, I was in the hell mecca that is Toys R Us. I went to grab a few items for Isaac…namely some Imaginext dinosaurs (they’re great! They roar, ect…) and the Fisher Price Digital Camera for my mom for Isaac. I hear CHRISTMAS MUSIC already! They’re playing the soundtrack to The year without a Santa Claus!

It’s just too early. Things start earlier and earlier every year. Come on, in SEPTEMBER, Isaac noticed a Christmas display at K-Mart when we were looking for cold medicine! I was flabbergasted. When did the holidays begin so early? When did Holiday shopping before Halloween become the norm?

I refuse to pull out my Christmas stuff until Black Friday. Then, John Denver and the Muppets will come out as will a few other of our standards (Partridge Family Chrismas album anyone? Yes, I’m a dork, but it’s fun!!). I just don’t understand the push to get it done early. Yes, this year, there are lots of recalls that are making people NOT want to buy, but geez, weezy..wait until Black Friday.

As a side note, I’m quite unimpressed with their offering of sales this year. I think this may be the year I stay in bed…unless the Angel Forever and JL want something from staples….

Entry filed under: annoyances, holidays, ick.

Sleep is highly overrated. wow.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TheAngelForever  |  November 12, 2007 at 1:45 pm

    Those were kick butt deals you got us last year. I will have to see if anything decent this year, but the stores are doing amazing things earlier . . . which is nice since Chanukah is SO early this year.

    I know I will not be heading out with the boys myself on Black Friday – I am not that psycho.

    C’est Moi

    Reply
  • 2. Jendeis  |  November 13, 2007 at 11:23 am

    Hey Candy Partner! I am so with you on the early and earlyness. In fact, I posted a rant about it.

    Reply
  • 3. amey  |  November 13, 2007 at 10:58 pm

    There is a radio station here that at some point starts playing Christmas music 24/7. I’m not sure when they started, but it was going on Saturday night at 8pm when I was on my way to a birthday party. I’m sure you might have something similar. For us it’s the station that does Love Songs with Delilah in the evenings. Because she’s also doing nothing but Christmas music.

    Nothing quite like it being 80 during the day and listening to Walkin’ in a Winter Wonderland.

    Reply
  • 4. Heidi  |  November 14, 2007 at 12:29 am

    Try working in retail. From Thanksgiving on that is all I hear, all day long, every single day, until Christmas. It is aweful. Torture. I really have come to lothe Christmas music. I pray for Christmas to end most years. Ugh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,931 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

