If there’s a turkey in the bathtub, it must be Thanksgiving!

November 20, 2007 at 12:40 am 3 comments

So, this year, we’re going to have Thanksgiving at my gram’s over at Teresian House. This is simply because she really doesn’t have the mobility to navigate anyone’s house anymore (read: Mine or my ‘rents..). So, I don’t have anyone to scam a turkey carcass off of…so, seeing that Hannaford had turkeys on sale for .59/lb, I grabbed a 15 lb turkey…for all of 8.00. NICE.

Did I mention that it was frozen?

Did I mention that I wanted to cook it off on Tuesday so I have time to make the turkey stock for the annual Black Friday Turkey Soup?

Yeah. Ok..well, let’s take stock of what we have right now….

1 rock hard frozen turkey.

A vague notion that if we don’t do something drastic that we won’t be eating poultry on Tuesday.

I called Doug from my “nap spot” (read: Mom and dad’s house! Dang, that couch is comfy…) and said “Hey-remember how we defrosted that turkey in California?”

He said “Oh, you mean the one we defrosted in the bathtub?”

I said “yeah. That one. Can we do a rerun of that?”

So, Doug got the bucket…dropped said frozen turkey into the bucket and filled the sucker up with water….and left it in the tubby.

There it sat…in a nice bath of cold water defrosting.

about 30 minutes ago, Doug said to me as I was watching the Bachelor reject BOTH girls (thank GOD one of them came to their senses…but I digress) “Did you put the turkey back in the fridge?”

I said “what?”

he said “you know, the turkey in the bathtub.”

I said “oh. that turkey.”

I wandered downstairs for a potty break and to toss the turkey (in whatever state it was in) into the fridge…

IT IS THAWED!!! WOOHOO!!!

So, we have birdie tomorrow and the traditiona black friday soup.

Oh…and I got sight of the Wal Mart ad today.

Nope. Not getting out of bed. The rumor that I was waiting for didn’t pan out. SO, for the first year in 5 years, Laura is staying in bed. No fabric runs, no random things to buy, no digital camera deals for the little sister…no router and hard drive runs…Just me, in my jammies…in bed…watching bad movies all day.

Entry filed under: holidays, insanity.

Let’s just cut to the chase here.. Stupid, stupid people…the next incarnation

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lily Scrimgeour  |  November 20, 2007 at 1:21 am

    Bathtub huh? I’ve got to remember that the next time I need to thaw a chicken that’s been hanging out in the deep freeze.

    Congrats on the pajama fest on Friday – you enjoy your well deserved chance to rest!

    Reply
  • 2. ma2jenna  |  November 20, 2007 at 10:51 pm

    Do you sing that song to the tune of Turkey in the Straw?? lol

    Reply
  • 3. knittymuggins  |  November 24, 2007 at 2:37 pm

    Hee hee! I’ll have to remember that one 🙂 The first year I used the sink, but now I just make sure I get it in the fridge *way* ahead of time for maximum thaw-age.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,900 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

