Haircuts

December 6, 2007 at 7:58 pm 2 comments

Tuesday night,while I was out dealing with the proctor from he-double hockey sticks (Hey Robyn- how ’bout those Habs?), Doug and Isaac were hanging home…and Isaac was inhaling the eggplant parm I had made the day before for dinner. Isaac looks at Doug, and with his mouth full of eggplant, says, “Daddy- you need a haircut!”

Keep in mind, Doug has not had a haircut since before the surgery debacle hit. That was the end of September, early October.  Doug is trying to find a time where he feels good enough to go and get one so he looks like a human again.

So, yesterday, I used a gift certificate my Mom got me for our regular hairdresser. I went in, and I haven’t had a haircut or anything since September, when I got sick of my hair, and in a fit of rage, went to Supercuts near my house and made my favorite hairdresser there, Sylvia, cut it to my shoulders from mid back.

Kirk not only foiled my entire head, to the point where I thought I could get radio stations in through the foil but lopped off almost 3 inches. 1.5 of which were dead, and needed to be GONE anyhoo. When he pressed out my hair, it just brushed my shoulders. Now, washed and back with teh evil curl (No, I will not gracefully accept this curl. Anyone who has to deal with waking up to a knotted mess and having to run water through it to make it managable will attest to the fact that you just don’t want this.), my hair has shrunk to chin length. I can deal with this.

I’m still in the “are you sure it’s not too short” phase,a nd Doug has ever-so-politely and patiently been reassuring me all day that my hair is NOT too short and that it looks fine, and the high and low lights that were put in look wonderful,a nd I don’t look like a midlife crisis.

Pictures to follow after we decorate the house tonight. and when I’m in clothes that I don’t mind being photgraphed in.

Entry filed under: insanity, parenting hell, randomness, shrimper.

The not-so-irate phone call Crazy knitter says what?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. knittymuggins  |  December 6, 2007 at 11:22 pm

    Ha! I know what you mean! I got my hair done in September (boy do I need to go back again) and I practically cried all night about how I hated the highlights, that they were so *blonde* and poor hubby had to comfort me. But, when I woke up the next day, I *loved* my hair. Go figure! I guess I just needed to get used to it. Here’s to hoping you love yours too when you wake up tomorrow 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Shelby  |  December 7, 2007 at 10:52 am

    Gotta love how curly hair just springs up after you wash it. You lose several inches! And if the hairdresser isn’t familiar with your hair, they never get it right. Mine is quite curly, but not as curly as it used to be. Definitely need a shower every morning, or if I do it at night, I have to put it up otherwise it’s a rats nest. So many think it’s such a blessing to have natural curly hair. I laugh at them. Blessing my ass! If they had to deal with it for a month, they’d change their minds, I’m sure.

    Though, after I had Celia, my hair did get a little straighter, and after a while, I actually ended up missing the curls. Not the dealing with them, but the look. I’m just so used to it, it’s part of who I am now. When it’s straight, it just looks weird to me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,891 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

