I hate insurance companies.

December 11, 2007 at 10:23 pm 2 comments

That’s my mantra today, and whenever I have to deal with GHI.

Let me go through my morning with y’all…

8:30- get in car, go to bank, do banking, head on down toward the doc’s office, stopping at K-mart on the way to pick up pajamas for me, boots for the boy, and Harry Potter 5 for Doug.

9:00-Take 4 advil, head over to doc’s office

9:30- get called back for my appointment. Get the blood pressure and stuff done and then get seated in the hall to wait for the room.

9:45..still waiting….

9:50-Chelsea (nurse) comes over and says that they don’t have my medical device and they can’t prove that insurance is going to pay for it.

9:51-See Laura break down into tears, because this is the last treatment for the adenomyosis before surgery is the only option left.

9:52-Chelsea takes my insurance card and calls GHI. Begins the screaming process.

10:00-Jan (nurse practitioner who is actually supposed to DO the procedure) comes over and pulls me into a room…explains that she doesn’t want to do it unless insurance will cover it, because it would be like a 1,000.00 bill that I would be stuck with, and she doesn’t want that. I can see that.

10:03-See Laura sob again. See Laura explain to Jan the hell that has been going on here for 7 months and that I just want it to STOP…explain that I cannot take another month of this..and I can’t be laid up in bed for a week with Doug being the way he is and Isaac…just being Isaac.

10:10-Chelsea returns-tells us she GOT HUNG UP ON by idiots at GHI after getting the royal runaround.

10:12-Laura fumes.

10:15-Drive to mom’s house…unlock the door, say hello to everyone (including my Aunt Pat) and let them know that I am going to have my fun for the day by screaming at GHI,a nd I’ll be right back.

10:30-get a live human at GHI. Scream at them for hanging up on Chelsea, and demand a straight answer,a nd demand that they call doc’s office. They give me a straight answer but tell me that they can’t call doc’s office.

10:35-call doc’s office and Chelsea back. Get Jessica (another nurse…each doc in this practice-there are 6..have their own nurse) Jessica puts me on speaker because Chelsea’s on with the..guess what..insurance. Tell Jessica everything is covered, and she says Chelsea will call me back. I give them mom’s number.

10:40-Chelsea calls! We both coordinate our stories…and we’re now getting the same message..and we both wonder WHY they couldn’t have said this over an hour ago! Confirm appointment for tomorrow…when Jan says ‘can you come in at 3:30?”

I agree…joyfully…

10:45-Dance out of my ‘rents bedroom claiming victory against GHI. Wonder out loud why they have to be such jerks. Listen to my dad’s insurance rant.

3:15-arrive for my appointment, have procedure done and am done by 4:00.

Now- here’s the thing. Why is it I have to scream at GHI to get anywhere. Also, why is it that they think they can lie to me about what happened with Chelsea this morning! Like I’m really going to believe them that this didn’t happen. Whatever.  I’ve had too many dealings with these people that have not been pleasant that makes me not believe a word that comes out of their mouths. I cannot WAIT until January. We get new insurance. It will be a dream.

Entry filed under: annoyances, ick.

Lesson #1 Wordless Wednesday, 12/12/2007

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ma2jenna  |  December 11, 2007 at 11:51 pm

    Sorry you had a hard time, glad it all worked out in the end. What did they do?

    Reply
  • 2. Jendeis  |  December 12, 2007 at 11:17 am

    Ugh, that stinks, and I totally agree with you on the hatred of insurance companies. You’d think that there would be some good people there who would say, “look, it’s not me, it’s the company.” But no, everyone you get on the phone stinks.

    Just wanted to check in and see if you got the candy package. If so, hope you enjoyed it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,716 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

