The good, the bad and the fing freezing!

December 15, 2007 at 9:50 am 2 comments

Here we go, the annual “I hate it here” lament when the snow starts…

Give me a good earthquake any day. they’re over in a flash, and you just kind of rock and roll with it…and 99% of the time, you don’t have to play clean up.

So, on Thursday, we got our first evil snow storm of the year. This sucker came on fast…I went down to Mom and Dad’s house and in a matter of an hour and a half, we had evil snow. It was so bad, that Isaac’s bus was a full hour late bringing him home.

So, when Isaac got home, I decided to break in his snowpants and new Cars boots. He refused to wear any sort of hand protection. Wacky kid.

Romping through the snow

Mommy-I need a bucket and shovel!

You can see how deep this garbage snow is. Can I please go back to LA now? My little California boy is just like his mommy…not too keen on the snow. After about 10 minutes, he said “I’m done. Can we go inside?” Yep. Right there with you, Monkey.

So, when I was digging us out (Doug didn’t do it..I did.), our snowblower crapped out on us! I was super irritated. A small plastic peice decided to crack so that the blades won’t turn! ARGH!  I ended up digging out by hand! NOT fun. This forced an emergency trip to home depot, because we’re getting another annoying weather pattern snowstorm starting tonight. I refuse to dig out of a nor’easter by hand. Nope. Not happening.  WELL, the Depot doesn’t carry the part. So, we’re going Ghetto. We’re duct taping it until we can get to a parts store, because guess what…they’re CLOSED on Saturdays!

BAH. figures.

Now onto the good stuff.

When I took the entrance exam for nursing school, I was told I’d hear in 7-10 days. If I got a legal size envelope, I killed the test, and if I got a thick one, I was on my way in.  Well, nothing arrived in the mail yesterday, and that was 10 days. I was getting like Tweek! I can’t take the pressure of waiting!

So, I made a phone call. I got Ms. Linda, the registrar/secretary/person who knows everything and if she doesn’t know it she knows who does. I told her that I had been told to call if I hadn’t heard anything, and I hadn’t heard anything…and I just had to know. Am I getting a thick or thin envelope???

So, I was told by Ms Linda…”You passed with flying colors. You were expecting anything else?”

Well…..

So, the thick envelope should be on its way by Monday. She just had to get her boss to sign off on my test results.

So, on my way to nursing school I am!

Now, I just have to re up my CPR and do a few other things to get ready for September!

Today, I’m on my way to the Lark Street Winterfest. They have the Santa Speedo Dash and a few other fun things today. Should be hilarious. Hopefully, I’ll get some good pictures to share…if the speedo dash isn’t too scary. I just may be too scared to take pictures.

the front of the house with the lightpole.front of the house with the lightpole

Entry filed under: annoyances, ick, shrimper.

Wordless Wednesday, 12/12/2007 Seven MORE random things about me

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jendeis  |  December 15, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    Congrats on the wonderful news!! Stay warm!

    Reply
  • 2. knittymuggins  |  December 15, 2007 at 3:21 pm

    Congrats!!! The pics are great too, even if you two aren’t fond of the snow 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,773 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

