Grumble grumble

January 22, 2008 at 9:26 pm 3 comments

So, did I confuse enough of you with Friday’s post?

Here’s the explanation (and yes, Mom…you have to read it here, because when you asked me earlier, I had no answers.)

So, last Tuesday, one of the few old friends of mine who knows I’m back here (and consequently her parents and now a few of our older friends know I’m back…dang.) gave me a call. Seems her and her mom dropped my name for a computer teacher position over at a local Catholic school.

So, I get a call from the principal of said school, asking me to come in and interview. Being completely caught off guard and out of respect to old friend and her mom (who is the school nurse at this school), I accept the invitation to interview. Can’t hurt. My feeling is consider this professional courtesy, and hey-if I work until June, I work until June. I’m under NO obligation to stay. Plus, if I like it, I can stay on. See the confusion?
Well, I go in on Friday and rock the interview. Things are going well until principal drops the bomb…the bomb that goes like this:

“My niece who is the building sub came to me and complained that I didn’t tell her about the job. She said that she knew computers, not to the extent that you do, but if she really wants it, I have to give it to her. She is my niece after all. You understand, don’t you?”

Yeah. that was the bomb.

And in the next breath-“I really like you. You’re wonderful. I want you to take this training that the diocese requires of all of its teachers…and I’llt alk to (niece) and see if she really wants this, and I’ll let you know on Tuesday.”

So, today comes, and I make a call,a nd find out niece got the job.

Now, here’s the thing. I’m pissed. Principal admits that this girl is NOT as qualified as I am, and that there is the relation fact. WHAT THE…

Did I want the job? Don’t know.

Am I irritated that I got passed over for someone who is significantly less qualfied?

HELL YES.

and the worst part? She gave friend’s mom some song and dance about things.

Whatever.

Back to plan A.

Entry filed under: annoyances, ick, insanity.

Man…that was close Then and Now

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theangelforever  |  January 22, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    Dumb, dumb, dumb. . . that is all I have to say.

    Reply
  • 2. amey  |  January 23, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    Isn’t there law/policy against this? Does the diocese allow this kind of nepotism? Ugh. I’m annoyed for you.

    Reply
  • 3. Sandy  |  January 23, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    Well, with not being a public school I suppose there is no board to report this character to is there? I certainly would try to find someone higher up to complain to! I once got a call and was told that I was choice #2 but #1 could not take the job so he was calling to offer it to me. I told him no thanks. Besides my #1 interview choice offered me a job so I was not accepting from #2. Some people have NERVE!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,901 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

