My first attempt at a lace stole-Don’t laugh.

January 25, 2008 at 11:13 am 2 comments

So, I got ambitious and joined the Secret of the stole ii.

Does it matter that I’ve only done some lace socks? Does it matter that I have serious project ADD and these big suckers end up still on the needles later on down the pike?

naah. Let’s just jump in with both feet.  Let’s use the lightest weight yarn I’ve ever use..and let’s get a new circular needle that won’t unkink to go with it.

Oh, did I mention the yarn is Malabrigo lace weight? Mmmm…yummy..and squishy.

Oh, and one more thing-did I mention that I’ve never read a chart before?

All makes sense for me to do this project, doesn’t it?

So, I dive in, learn quasi chart reading, and then reverted to the written directions! I can’t count in the evening when Isaac is awake. Counting charts are not fun.

So, here are the photos of the finished clue 1. Remember, that this is clue 1/9.

Clue one-note the kinked needles

close up

the blankie? I made that the other day. there are frogs on the other side, and I figured the serious contrast in colors would make it so that you could really see the lace and all of my screw ups Design features.

So, clue 2 at the end of next week. Remember, no laughing at my design features.

Entry filed under: fiber stuff.

This is the seriously wrong message to send Friday fill in #56

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TheAngelForever  |  January 25, 2008 at 11:18 am

    I would never laugh at you. You are the all knowing Squishy Yarn Guru in my world. Heck this has not been anything like when you had to turn the heel and the laughs there.

    Reply
  • 2. Nautical Knitter  |  January 26, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Hey, your stole looks great! Congratulations and keep it up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,798 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

