Garbage night=almost frostbite!

February 11, 2008 at 12:13 am 3 comments

It’s been cold. I will spare y’all my usual rant about this not being SoCal-Y’all can thank my mom for that.

Tonight, I did the garbage as I usually do. I figured it’s cold enough for a coat, but don’t really need hand protection, because I’m only out for a few seconds, shoot the garbage can to the end of the driveway, run back.

Seems simple enough, right?

The fac tthat the lid on the can was frozen shut should have been an indicator…

Well, it was blistering cold. Cold to the point that my hands started to hurt in the distance from my steps to the garbage can (Not so far in the grand scheme of things) and I figured I could make it and be ok…

No such luck. I get to the steps, and my hands are hurting. The pain is intense, and my hands are red as a fire engine. I can’t even move my hands to open the door, and scream for Doug (who is standing watchng me) to open the door. I make him unzip my jacket, and get a shower going for me…all the while, I’m near tears, because this HURTS. I couldn’t even take my hair tie out of my hair to get into the shower. He undressed me, shoved me in the direction of the shower and let the hot water do its magic.

the pain slowed…and it became easier to move my hands…but my hands still ache. We’re 3 hours later now…

Moral of the story? You think you’re going to be out there for 30 seconds doing garbage-wear hand protection, even if you think you can live without it.

Now, I’m going to take some advil and see if I can rewarm these towels to put my hands in…

Entry filed under: ouchies.

From the “It seemed like a good idea at the time” files Updates with a quickness

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sjsmart  |  February 11, 2008 at 2:17 am

    OUCH!

    Reply
  • 2. ma2jenna  |  February 13, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    Do you have Reynauds?

    Reply
  • 3. kileigh7  |  February 13, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    nope-it was reallly that bitter with the wind chill. It was sooo stinkin cold!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,771 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

