The perils of Good Friday

March 22, 2008 at 3:43 am 2 comments

So, yesterday, Doug and I (ok, I) decided that it would be a no-cook day. Since it was Good Friday, we decided that Ankers, a local fish and chicken shop,  was our take out of choice. Why Ankers? Well, for those not in the know, Good Friday has a no meat rule.
So, I go and get my oil changed and  get behind a delusional guy at Wal Mart (that’s another post…) and then mosey on over to Ankers…where the line is out the door and almost to the middle of the parking lot. The place is small anyhoo, and you really can’t eat in here unless it’s spring/summer and you can sit at the picnic tables. It’s that small…but the food is good…
Well, a woman comes out and says “I just waited 45 minutes! Turn back now!” All of us in line laughed. This was a moral imperitive, to get food from Ankers. So, I was bored, and what did I have with me? I had the sock of hockey game fame! Well, I was siting at wal mart waiting for my car…I had to have something to do while my car was on the lift…

So, I break out the sock and start knitting in line. I’ve got the project bag in my purse and the yarn coming out of hte bag…and I’m chugging along on the foot, heading for the toe. As I’m chugging along, people are beginning to stare at me, and I’m starting to get questions as to exactly WHAT I’m knitting and why I would bother to knit socks when you could just go to the Target Boutique and get a pair with minimal effort.

Why do I knit socks? I like ’em! Plain and simple!

So, I’m chugging along on the sock and moving in the line. I was in line for a half hour to get food for us.

But, so are the perils of Good Friday. Long lines at fhis joints, people who think I’m weird for knitting a sock while waiting for said fish and one sock almost ready for toe grafting.

Entry filed under: fun, holidays, insanity.

Heard at the doc’s office… 7 more things about me

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sjsmart  |  March 22, 2008 at 9:09 am

    People always ask me if I’m knitting for a baby and when I say no I’m making socks they get this baffled look on their faces. I want them to stay on the outside! More sock yarn for US! LOL

    Reply
  • 2. Chris H  |  March 23, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    Don’t ya just love freaking out the Muggles? LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,931 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

