Where do they find them, and why do they keep sending them to me?

March 31, 2008 at 10:27 pm

That was the line on some show from when I was a kid. I can’t remember what it was, but it so sums up my day.

So, this morning, after dropping Isaac off at school, I mosied my tucchas over to the Christmas Tree Shop for two items. These items would be:

  1. The Peanut Butter & Co. Cookbook (mmm. yummy…and an allergist’s nightmare to boot!)
  2. A jar of said PB & C0. “The Bee’s Knees” peanut butter.

So, anyone who knows the Christmas Tree Shop knows that this place is seriously hit or miss. You may spend a good 20-30 minutes just ascertaining if they have what you want.

So, I go a-digging. I dig through the one rack of books…no cookbook. Dig through 2nd rack of books….no cookbook…but there was a Cookie cookbook!! No, not what I came for. So, as I’m going through the 3rd rack of books, there it is. The holy grail of cookbooks….and THE LAST COPY!!!!

I grab said copy and go over toward the peanut butter. While I’m looking for the specific kind of peanut butter, an older lady spies me and my cookbook. She notices me thumbing through it and peeking at other peanut butter cookbooks.  Well, she spies the price on the cookbook (2.99!!) and asks me if I’ve seen any other copies. I tell her that I haven’t…and thus begins the bizzare experience of the day.

Hold on to your hats, because here we go…

So, the old lady asks me if she can have my cookbook. She gives me this entire song and dnace about needing a wedding shower gift for someone, and not wanting to do the same-ol-same-ol. I politely tell her that this was the item I specifically came in for, and planned to make items from it this evening, so unfortunately, I could not part with the book. She then turned on the old lady puppy eyes, and repeated her request, to which I declined yet again. I pointed her in the directon of the other cookbooks, which there was a 2 set of cookbooks-1 all peanut butter, 1 all jelly, in the same box…for 4.99. I figured that would be a good substitute for her non-traditional shower gift. She didn’t like my idea. She sulked away.

I found my peanut butter and took both to the checkout before I could be accosted by any other weird old ladies.

I swear. I have a sign on my head that says “Freak Magnet.”

My cousin DiAnna swears she has one too…but I don’t think hers is as large as mine…

Entry filed under: insanity, randomness.

Setting the record straight… There is always something worse…


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,853 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

