This is one of the single most frustrating things

May 2, 2008 at 12:19 am 2 comments

that anyone can do as a parent-

Find care for your preschool child. Especially one with special needs.

Granted, Isaac’s needs aren’t that huge…but the reaction I’ve gotten from places really frightens me. Take for example the reaction I got yesterday from Kidz Korner. Sad to say, that was one of the DIRECTORS who was panicking over taking Isaac. For those of you in the area-it was the Albany location-director’s name? Christy.

 

So, today I went and visted Childtime. I was quite impressed…but right now, I’m still waiting for the child care center above Isaac’s current school-the one that he integrates with starting in summer-to see if they have a spot for him.

It’s so hard to sit on my hands and wait until JUNE to hear if he’s got a spot there or if I have to head over to Childtime or Kiddie Academy (I’m touring them in the morning). I just don’t know what I want to do. I’m NOT sending him back to Little Flower, not because the care is substandard, but the classroom he’d be in has two exceptional teachers, who both leave at 3 pm. He wouldn’t be able to benefit from their years of experience and love and warmth showing up at 1:15-nap time. It’s just not worth the cost.

Man. Does the worry and frustration surrounding being a parent ever stop?

Entry filed under: insanity, parenting hell, shrimper.

IEP aftermath I’m having trouble getting my head around this one…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Robyn  |  May 2, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    Nope, the worrying never stops. My mother told me that she still worries and none of her children live at home anymore… LOL

    Reply
  • 2. Chris H  |  May 2, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    “Does the worry and frustration surrounding being a parent ever stop?” Nope, sorry.

    And I don’t know what it’s like there, but here, I would sign up for a spot in something I liked, even if I was waiting on something else. It’s always easier to cancel at the last minute, than it is to get in with no time to spare….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,900 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

