What were they thinking?

May 15, 2008 at 10:20 am 4 comments

Over the past two days, I’ve run into a series of unrelated events where people involved in said events caused me to shake my head in utter confusion, as well as tick me off. It’s kind of all in a “what were they thinking” set of moments that just make one wonder where they got their brain cells and why must they always run into ME?

So, first off, let’s start with Tuesday.

I went to a hiring fair at a well known Seattle-based coffee company that sucks all of my extra money, because I am an addict. I figure until school starts in the fall, I can pull coffee and rake in some money for books and things.

Note I said “Hiring fair,” which to me, implies instant interviews, which equals look like you would for an interview. Nice.

I put on a skirt. Yes, I put on a skirt. Stop laughing. Pick up your jaws off the floor. I do own them…

I saw several people enter the store in jeans…and polos…and one in the most atrociously striped pink and pink sweater. (Maeve, I’m NOT a colorist. this was UGLY. Trust me.)

I figured these were just run of the mill customers…until they sat down, with no drinks and when they were telling the interviewers what people were in what order to be interviewed…the barista pointed out those two.
MY GOOD LORD. When did the world of academia stop teaching basic interview skills in High School? When did they stop teaching that upon going to interviews, jeans are NOT Ok! When did people think that just because this is a coffee shop, jeans are good for interviews? What were they thinking?

Then, as the barista is pointing out what the order of people is (I had been interviewed, was getting coffee and getting my new hire packet…), one woman who was much older than I, decided that she was being slighted so she had a serious hissy fit about where she was in the lineup.

Again, how to impress people that are looking at you for a potential employee. Again…has she totally forgotten how to behave in an interview setting? I don’t know if she got hired or not, but I think that the person who interviewed me (who heard all of this debacle with her) thought twice before he offered her a position. I really hope she wasn’t going for management. Really. I swear.

Then, yesterday, I went to the financial aid meeting to see what I was eligible for. The financial aid counselor fancied herself an expert on what people should do with their lives…and kept haranging me about teaching again (I don’t want to!! I don’t want to!!!) or going for my RN and all sorts of things. She drove me bananas.

Ok..what was she thinking. I know what I want. I know what I need to do. Just show me the financial aid and stop being my career counselor. The questions she was haranging me about were not questions she needed to know. It’s not like she was my entrance interview. I expected those with my entrance interview. NOT from the financial aid person.

Lord help me. Where do all these weirdos find me and WHAT were they thinking?

Entry filed under: annoyances, wow.

Wordless Wednesday, 5/14/08 Friday Fill ins, 5/16/08

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TheAngelForever  |  May 15, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    I am not laughing . . .

    You own a skirt? At least I know it is not pink!

    Please do not hit me 😉

    Reply
  • 2. sjsmart  |  May 18, 2008 at 6:06 am

    In a previously life I worked in the staffing industry and trust me….the clothing can get much worse. Tank tops, shorts, clothes that are stained, clothes that smell….the list goes on.

    You should have thanked the career counselor for thinking you were 17 and not a full grown adult with a head on her shoulders that probably has a good idea of what she wants to and does not want to do with her life. Zheesh!

    Reply
  • 3. flgirlinsydney  |  May 18, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    Have you tried this http://www.tickerfactory.com for your Backwards Bush countdown clock? I am thinking of putting one up too!

    Do you get all you can drink coffee if you go work for the big green monster?

    Reply
  • 4. Belladonna Boomslang  |  May 19, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    The interview outfit…ah, yes. Oh for the days when anyone realized that one did not have to be a disgusting slob to be happy….

    Of course, in the magical realm no one would consider going for an interview in anything less than their best work/school robes. …*snort*

    Belladonna

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,773 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

