Why buy when you can make it?

June 4, 2008 at 7:51 am 1 comment

Last night, I made a trip to Linens n things, because the store by my house is closing. I figured I’d get some good deals for the craft/study and possibly pick up a cheap set of twin sheets for the Monkey.

WELL, right now the basic sale is 10% off. Yeah, not so good.

Especially when I wanted a few floor cushions for the craft/study because I study best on the floor. Yes, I’m weird that way. Y’all should know that by now.

I found an awesome floor cushion…

Here-no, I was not purchasing pink. I was purchasing the “kiwi” color to go with my room. Well, at 10% off, not such a hot deal, so I decided to head over to Target. Nothing that I wanted there, except I found the sheets were cheaper…even not on sale…so, at a loss for my floor pillows, I wandered into JoAnn fabrics, where I figured I’d at least get some inspiration…and just generally wander around the store for a few minutes.

WELL, what do I see when I approach the fabric section? SOMEONE GETTING NUBBY MINKY CUT! Alas, she was getting PINK minkee cut. Ick. Pink, puke, blah, ick. She also had a green knd of “stripey” minkee. So, that made me wonder…if there was puke pink colored nubby minkee, there had to be a few other colors. So, I wander back and lo and behold…I find GREEN NUBBY MINKEE!!!!!!!! Oh, for joy! For joy!

So, I grab the bolt of fabric…and grab 2 throw pillow forms…and they’re big-and it’s a 2 pack!

and get 2 yards of fabric cut…and off I go…

and while I’m wandering around with the bolt of fabric, I run into a woman who was pretty blah along with me with the prices in Linens n things. She was wandering around JoAnn too…and asked if I was going to MAKE the pillow covers-and I told her I did..and she was floored. Especially when she found out I was just your average run of the mill barista-almost-nursing student, and not a professional.

So, today, I’m making minkee pillowcases for my floor pillows. Woohoo!

 

______________________________________________________________________________________________

A short request here-

One of Isaac’s schoolmates died on Monday. He was in one of the other classrooms, but they often combine for special events, and Isaac did know him. He had been fighting several conditions since birth, and was put into hospice care late last week. Monday, very early, he became the heavens’ newest star. His Mom and Grandparents can use all of the prayers, love and all of that good stuff sent their way that they can get.

thanks.

Entry filed under: ECEC, super crafter.

How do you say “Thank you” The latest delusion from Princess Pretendtocare

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. sjsmart  |  June 12, 2008 at 7:54 am

    Pictures of the pillows please.

    Very sad about heaven’s newest star. Prayers being sent that way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,771 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

