Heat wave delusions

June 10, 2008 at 7:22 pm 2 comments

So, working at Starbucks has given me a new appreciation for what people drink during a heat wave…and how obnoxious people can get in a drive thru. I’l get into the latter some other time.

So, today, around here, we’re talking 100 degrees. Not kidding. I worked from 6:30-2:45 today. So, from the coolest part of the day to the hottest.

 

Most people who came through the doors or the drive thru were ordering cold drinks. Lots of teas, frappucinos (we blew through 2 cubes of frappucino base. Let’s put it this way…a full cube of frappucino base is 4 liters of water.)

We oddly also blew through our morning pick coffee (which is hot) in no time flat.

So, today, around 2:00, a guy comes in and says “It’s so hot! I think I’ll order a hot drink!’

We thought he was kidding. We thought he was kidding to the point where another barista said “You’re serious?”

No, he was SERIOUS. He ordered a triple espresso. Straight up.

Then, there was the guy who ordered (ready?)

6 shots. In a venti cup. EXTRA HOT.

 

What the….?

 

Yeah, thanks. I’ll be drinking my blended lemonades and frappucinos.

Now, it’s too hot up here to blog more.

I’m going back downstairs to eat a popsicle.

Yeah, that really goes well on a hot day.

 

Entry filed under: green apron, wow.

I think they’ve got the wrong idea here Ya ever have one of those days…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sjsmart  |  June 12, 2008 at 7:40 am

    I just can’t bring myself to drink the frapps. I do like that mango tazo tea thingy though. YUMMO! That was my “It’s 7:00am, and it’s hot as fire drink of choice.

    Next time you are trying hot tea try “Om” (Tazo). That is my new yummy favorite.

    Reply
  • 2. ma2jenna  |  June 13, 2008 at 3:04 am

    Lots of coffee fanatics say “its never too hot for coffee” so I guess this proves it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,685 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

