Nothing says “thank you” like a roll of duct tape.

June 19, 2008 at 9:37 pm 1 comment

So, here is the offical end of another school year for Isaac. With this, comes the annual discussion/purchases/ect about how to say thank you. The school sends out a list, and this year’s list was the usual end of the year stuff…contact paper, batteries, printer cartridges, blank cd’s, ect. I swear there were some cleaning products, but I forgot the list when I went to Target Boutique, and had to rely on my memory and Doug’s memory.

 

Stop laughing. It was not my preferred strategy. I’m not trusting my overtired, over caffinated brain,a nd my husband’s lack thereof.

So, I head off to Target, with a game plan in mind.  I grab a cart, knowing one of the items is on the larger side…and start my shop. I head over to the first item we both agreed to grab. Duct tape. Yes, they asked for DUCT TAPE. So, I’m standing over the duct tape thinking “this is just how I wanted to thank the awesome staff in this room for 2 years of dealing with my son. A roll of duct tape.” So, I call Doug.

The conversation went something like this:

me: Ok. I dont’ know if I can do this duct tape thing. It just seems so wrong.

Doug: Why?

Me: This is JUST how I wanted to thank them for putting up with Isaac for 2 years. Thanks! Here’s a roll of duct tape! Nothing says “THANKS!” like a roll of duct tape!

Doug (Laughing): Ok…but duct tape is totally useful!

me: I know, but there’s got to be something else on the list that we can add to this. I just can’t give them a roll of duct tape…

Doug: Ummm..I know there were blank DVD’s on the list and batteries.

me: I hate getting batteries.

Doug: WELL??

Me: wasn’t there snap on lidded containers of any size?

Doug: I think so.

me: So, I’m also thinking I saw baby wipes?

Doug: Definately.

Then the phone cut out. Dang Target.

So, I grab a plastic tote, a huge pack of refill wipes and then I toss in the duct tape.

I guess that’ll do. It’s hard to say thank you to people who have made such an impact on not just one small 4 year old, but with everyone he interacts with, from neighbors, to friends to everyone else in his crazy world.

So, I guess in truth, nothing says “thanks” more than duct tape that will maybe help another kid and family.

Entry filed under: ECEC, parenting hell, shrimper.

another day, another shot of espresso 2! I got hit with 2 Memes!!!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. sjsmart  |  June 20, 2008 at 9:29 am

    I’m not going to even ask why they need all this stuff? I thought it was crazy in Minsk when they asked the parents for money to buy new windows!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,685 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

