A-camping we will go..for the first time

July 2, 2008 at 9:41 pm 4 comments

Last Wednesday, I got an IM from a friend of mine, asking if I knew any nurses.

Wheeeel, I just happen to know one…and I told her so. She gave me the number of an old friend up at a camp that I used to attend and then work at-and told me to call, because she was DESPERATE for a camp nurse.

So, after talking to Doug, I made the phone call. The dates were good, the pay was good, and the simple fact was that if I could swing it, I was going to make this my “get out of dodge” bit for the summer. Hey. A girl has to have priorites.

The director’s line: “You just saved my summer!!”

So, we chatted and the initial plan was for Doug to bring Isaac up with him for the 4 day stint, because working at the ‘Bux is a tough stint when you have a 4 year old, and your shift starts at 6:30 am. I was going to drive the two of them up, because if you don’t know where this place is, you’ll NEVER find it, and even when you do know where it is, it’s a trick to find if you haven’t been there in an eon.  I knew that Doug wouldn’t be able to find it once he got on the road, even with killer directions. He’d have prolly ended up at the Boy Scout camp that’s up the road. THAT one has clear markings-I wonder if Boy Scouts…ok, I’ll stop right there on that one.

So, after having a chat with mom, We figured I’d go up for the night with Isaac and Doug, bring Isaac home and have Mom watch him for the 2 days I’m working, and then go back up on Thursday to pick up Doug and bring him home. Then, we’d all go up later in the month for Troop camp, and we’d stay the 3 days, because it’s kind of dumb to do that kind of ride for just a few days.

So, Sunday morning, we set out at about 8 am (as the ride is 1.5 hours and you never know what’s going to happen) and got there right around 10 am and dove into getting things set up, settled in and ready for the campers to arrive that afternoon.

Isaac was thrilled. Last year, they did a camping unit over the summer,a nd he learned all about camping-staying in a tent, campfires and all sorts of other things. He was beyond excited.

So, upon arriving at camp, we got all set, and went for lunch. Isaac didnt’ know what to do with himself, because he saw the tents, and automatically wanted to know where the campfires were! Well, at 10 am, there are no campfires. Trust me. Not unless it’s packout time, and that’s not even the case at 10 am.

 We took a long walk around the camp and I showed him all sorts of neat places…like Tall Timbers-where I was a permanent resident in the summer of ’96.

He loved the floating bridge and loved seeing all sorts of animals. He really enjoyed every second of the experience…

But let’s cut to the most hilarious part of the day, before stinkin’ wordpress blows up on me and I lose this AGAIN (we’re on the 3rd time here…)-

After dinner, there’s an activity called Singing Logs. This entails the campers sitting on logs and singing hilarious camp songs, you know, the ones that your mother tells you to can the minute you get home. Well, one of the counselors (*gulp* my first camper!!) announced it, and Isaac started to push his chair toward the door, like he does at school when it’s music time. I told him he had to stop pushing his chair…and that little so and so got another counselor to TAKE HIM WITH HER while I helped with dishes. So, off he went. I told Doug to go rescue them from him, but when he walked by, Isaac was singing, dancing and having a great time, generally making himself the mascot of the camp!

Now, we have a child who knows “Shark Attack” and “I’m being eaten by a boa constrictor!”  As well as a very odd song that I have no clue what the title is, but it’s really quite wrong..and I worry about Isaac singing it in school….but then, I’ll just tell them it’s a camp song and have a chat with him NOT to sing that one in school. No, I’m not stopping it. Is that a bad mommy moment?

 

So, he’s all excited to go back for troop camp,s o my darling hubby (who now has a camp name!!) can be the nurse again-that time-there will be pictures.

 

Entry filed under: family, fun, hilarity.

Blowing Dodge What I did on the 4th of July

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TheAngelForever  |  July 2, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    Tease – what is his camp name?

    Reply
  • 2. sjsmart  |  July 3, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    I LOVE camp songs. One time at patrol camp! LOL

    Reply
  • 3. Florida Girl In Sydney  |  July 4, 2008 at 6:06 am

    I LOOOOVE Camp! I went in upstate NY for 7 summers- it was the best. Some of my oldest friends still are ones I met at camp. My husband thinks I am just a crazy sleepaway camp freak.

    Reply
  • 4. mischief0617  |  July 6, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    Oh c’mon…you gotta spill it on the camp name…and the lyrics to the WRONG song!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,684 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

