Am I a bad customer service magnet?

August 5, 2008 at 6:57 pm 3 comments

So, a while ago (read: over a month), I got a gift card to Barnes and Noble. So, I decide to go and order Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer and then a Speed Racer DVD for Isaac. I knew full well that the release date of the book would not be until August 2, but the price was sooooo good (read: 13.00! For a hardcover!!) and it was promised to be here the day of release.

So, at 12:57 am Sunday (per the time stamp on my email…)they decided that my book would be delayed a week. I tried to call when I discovered the mail, and lo and behold, their customer service department was CLOSED!

So, I waited for them to open and got the most obnoxious customer service person…second only to the guy who told me I had Tourrette’s Syndrome, you know, the dweeb brain from the last Old Navy Debacle! (remember that y’all?)

Well, I was told that even though I had goten an email at 12:57 am, that I should have dealt with this on Friday or waited until Monday. Yeah. Not an option. So I cancelled my order and said I was just going to get the book, so my money was back on my gift card, right?

 

WRONG.

 

I was told it would take until THURSDAY to get it back on my card.

 

Nope. Not happening. Not in the slightest.

 

So, I got the snotty one to put me through to her supervisor….who then told me that it would be immediately refunded to my card.

Fine. Good!

Nope, not really.

 

So, I check my card a few hours later and I see that my balance has not been restored. So, I call back and get told that it would be done.

I checked every few hours after that, and it wasn’t done. By this time, the bookstore was closed and I decided to wait it out for the next day.

So, after another phone call and finding out I was fed misinformation I decided to try my luck, as we were dropping the boy off at school…and close to the new store at the mall.

So, I go, have my card checked and lo and behold, the money had magically appeared! Woohoo!

 

I go to get the book, ask someone…and get told this:

“we’re all out of copies of that. We sent someone over to the other store to get some. They should be here in 20 minutes.”

So, we wait. and wait. and wait.

After about 45 minutes, I go and ask someone, and they say the books won’t be there for another FEW HOURS.

 

Yeah, right. Fine. I’m NOT waiting.

 

So, we go get lunch and then head back toward home….we stop off at the store by the house, and lo and behold! TONS OF COPIES!

I mutter a few choice things about going there first, and how I really should just stop fussing around with the other store…pick up my book, a sheep notebook (I’ll take pictures! It’s hilarious!) and pay using my gift card…and home I went to read.

 

Gee…another debacle in my customer service life!

ARGH!

Entry filed under: annoyances, customer service.

Mom’s Favorite Hrm…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. camommy2kj  |  August 5, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    I think I must be the bad doctor magnet! haha

    Reply
  • 2. eksith  |  August 6, 2008 at 9:15 am

    You know, I had a math professor once, who said…

    “E, the human race breeds at an exponential rate. But, sadly, stupid people cover a significant enough percentage to ruin the whole species.”

    In other words…
    It only takes one drop of manure in the milk to ruin the whole batch.

    If you happen to find the time, I’d recommend taking some sort of martial arts course. It’s a good way to wind down the after effects these types of encouters.

    Plus, there’s something about martial arts students that convey a sense of… “I will get what I want, or you’ll be wanting a new nose”. Not rudeness, mind you. Just assertiveness.

    Reply
  • 3. Jenn  |  August 7, 2008 at 6:17 am

    You really do attract them don’t you. Well, since you are in a mood, I tagged you….see my blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,768 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

