Wait-I’m the adult here!

August 13, 2008 at 9:06 pm 1 comment

So, the other evening, I was sitting on the couch, watching Michael Phelps. Go Phelps. Go. Go. Swim like the demon you are…

and Doug asks me to flip on the Yankee game to see what the score was..and make me homesick, as they were in ANAHEIM. (grumble, mumble…stupid upstate NY…)

Isaac decides to join me on the couch, and this is the conversation that ensued…

Isaac:  YAY! Yankees!

me: Ok. we’ve seen the score. We’re turning on swimming now!

Isaac: No! Yankees!

me: No! Swimming!

Isaac : No, Yankees!

me: No, Swimming!

(this went on for a few more minutes, with Doug laughing hysterically from his spot on the chair..)

Then, I realized…I’m the adult! I’ve got the remote! Why am I getting into a power struggle with the 4 year old…

and I changed the channel, and looked at my darling son and said :

“Michael Phelps.”

My darling, wonderful, smart aleck child responded this way…

 

“Derek Jeter.”

 

Yeah. He won.

 

I still got to watch Michael Phelps. Remember? I had the remote.

Entry filed under: hilarity, parenting hell, shrimper.

Green Apron tales-the borrowed partner Sesame Street on Fridays-the belated edition…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. sjsmart  |  August 16, 2008 at 7:35 am

    TGF Remotes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,798 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

