Conversations on Halloween Costumes with 4 year olds

September 1, 2008 at 5:36 pm 1 comment

This year, I kind of feel like I’ve lost the battle as far as picking out Isaac’s halloween costume. You see, we have to think about this early, especially if we want to go with Old Navy as we have in the past few years.

 

That was my plan all along-to go with Old Navy, figuring this is the last year I can get a costume out of them, as the largest size they carry in costumes is a 4-5T, which Isaac is in the 4T now, and with the concerns of living on the east coast in East Nowhere, layering becomes an issue..

 

So on Friday night, we went to Kmart, because they had 2 gig flash drives for 9.00. Yes, 9.00. I needed one for work, so that I can take my stuff back and forth, and I figured that was a good price. While we were there, I went to check out the Halloween decorations. We turned the corner and found costumes.

 

Let’s get this one straight. We had no idea they were there. I would not have gone down that aisle had I known what was in store for us.

 

Eagle-Eyed Isaac found NASCAR costumes. A huge gasp was emitted and the verbal spewage began.

 

(this was all one big string of things…)

“Oh, look! It’s NASCAR! I want Jimmie Johnson! I want Jeff Gordon! Wait! there’s Jr! I want to be the National Guard car! No, I want to be the Amp car!…”

This went on for a good 5 minutes. We had long left the section with the promise to “think about it” before he got done spewing verbally.

 

So being as I realllllly don’t want him to be a NASCAR driver for one more year, I decided to paruse Old Navy’s lineup this year, and maybe, just maybe get him to agree to one more animal costume fo rone more year…or be a Barista. That would be hilarious, but I digress.

While we’re both (he came upstairs to “help” me…) parusing the site, Isaac came up with a list of costumes that he wanted off of the Old Navy site.

1. Dragon

2. Elephant

3. Tree (yes, he said tree. There is no tree, but that’s what he said at one point.)

4. Skunk

5. Ninja Warrior (so he could go SPLAT. Yes, we watch too many Japanese game shows here. Ninja Warrior and Unbeatable Banzuke are total favorites here.)

So finally he narrowed it down.

This is the way the conversation went:

me: So, you want this one?

Isaac: Yes. I want to be a ________________

Me: So, you don’t want to be a _______________?

Isaac: No. I want to go and say “Trick or Treat!” In that costume. I want to go to the firehouse in THAT costume. (picture said weirdo child pointing at the screen)

Me: Ok. so we’ll go to the store next week and get it.

Isaac: Then I can put it on and play with it!

me: No, we need to save it for Halloween…

Isaac: So, I can go and say trick or treat in my ___________________ costume!

 

Yes, I’m intentionally leaving it blank so in case we have a rerun of last year’s costume fiasco…I can change it. So, Photos to come…and more insane conversations with an adamant 4 year old.

 

Hey..the one thing I can say was they weren’t NASCAR drivers…

Entry filed under: parenting hell, shrimper.

Green Apron tales, the long, long shift Green Apron Tales-the Labor Day edition

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Robyn  |  September 2, 2008 at 12:01 am

    Too funny. Kids are too funny. Can’t wait to see what he’ll be!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,846 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

