In which Laura reveals what she remembers she didn’t like about teaching in the first place.

September 12, 2008 at 5:52 am 2 comments

Let’s just get this straight. It’s not the students.

It’s the petty weirdness of some of the staff.

 

First, let’s go back to the first faculty meeting. I knew no one. I sat next to the music teacher who complained the ENTIRE meeting, to the point where I moved my seat to sit with the people who were not complaining. Literally. she complained about everything, from her schedule to having to do detention duty 12 times over a 180 day school year. COME ON.

Then, there’s the Spanish teacher. I was in another teacher’s room, and we got on the subject of crayons, which triggered my thought to get Dad some crayolas and a map for November. I jotted it down, and of course the teacher asked me what hte deal was, so I began to explain…when the Spanish teacher starts jumping in (she walked in late) and complaining about the initial assignment, how it wasn’t fair to make kids stay up, ect..

she went on and on and on…and she made herself look like a jerk, because she didn’t catch WHY I was telling this in the first place…and the point of the story was that my Dad was cackling when the states went his way and was coloring…not that the assignment was unfair…

The other teacher and I tried to tell her this 10x..she didn’t listen…we gave up and let her look like a jerk.

 

I stay out of the faculty room for a reason. I can’t take the petty garbage that goes on there. I just can’t.

I go in for the water cooler (I fill my bottle and leave) and then go back to my lab…where I’ve got air conditioning.

I can’t stand this aspect of teaching.

 

Which is why I stay in my room, on the middle school floor…

 

and away from the drama.

Entry filed under: annoyances.

Banaphone-the return of Sesame Street on Fridays… A group of smart people

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Florida Girl In Sydney  |  September 14, 2008 at 12:15 am

    My sister-in-law is a teacher, she’s worked teaching in South Florida for over 25 years. She says the same thing. The kids are fine, it’s the teachers and other faculty that make it suck.

    Reply
  • 2. sjsmart  |  September 20, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    I love the crayon and map idea! I have crayons and I’m sure I can print a map from the internet! : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,772 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

