So, I went to Rhinebeck….

October 30, 2008 at 7:53 am 3 comments

And brought my mom…

Laura! Can you please take a picture of me that's not me eating??

(sorry Mom-this is the only shot I have of you from Rhinebeck…at least there’s not food in your mouth…)

I bought some stuff from Blue Moon Fiber arts, and oogled the sock monkeys at their booth….

Sock Monkeys...and lots of Socks that Rock!

I got 2 skeins of Christmas Balls and a few fun patterns, including the Sock Monkey pattern. Doug wants me to make Ooh and Aah of Playhouse Disney fame. I think I can oblidge.

and then I enabled Kim…

Seriously..Do I really need 2 skeins?

There she is, holding 2 skeins of Socks that Rock Dreidl. Chanukkah socks and handwarmers anyone??

Kinneared the Yarn Harlot

Signing her wonderful Canadian-ness to lots of books

 

Ok, I used my zoom to Kinnear her. Does it still count?

Met some new friends…

she knitted Ravelry's mascot, BOB! How stinkin cool is that??

 

Met the wonderfulness that is Jess and Casey from Ravelry

We even took our pic with Jess and Casey! Such celebrities!

I even did something so me, and wore a silly hat for a few minutes.
It's a FROG HAT! How cool is that?
Naah, I didn’t buy it…I couldn’t think of anyplace to wear it! It’s just too nice to wear when shoveling snow in E. Nowhere.

I also picked up a spindle kit and some fiber so I could start to do a bit of spinning. Let’s see how many new words I invent while I’m learning how to do this…

then, I did something that I wish I had gotten pictures of…I met Ann and Kay from Mason-Dixon knitting and got their new book…and got it SIGNED!

Even Mom got some yarn and things for her less exciting yarn-y pursuits. She does straight knitting. None shall be in the round..none shall be on DPN’s. That’s just mom.

But she does make the best dang mittens this side of the Mississippi!

So, Rhinebeck is over for another year, and I’ve got enough projects to keep me busy.

It was a blast-fun, wonderful and it was great having Mom along.

Doug was trying to make fun of me and said “So, what, next year you’re coming home with a spinning wheel?”

I said ‘Yep. But just a small one.”

He hung his head. He knew he never should have asked that question.

Entry filed under: fiber stuff.

Wordless Wednesday, 10/29/08 Um, yeah, sure, right.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. betsy  |  October 30, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    got a spindle as well, actually started spinning as well.
    it was great meeting you.

    Reply
  • 2. Sam  |  October 30, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    Wow, that’s a great kinnear shot!

    Reply
  • 3. Shelby  |  October 31, 2008 at 10:35 am

    Looks like you had fun! I must say I only went to Rhinebeck once, and I did come home with a spinning wheel. My husband won’t let me go again…can’t figure out why!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,771 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

