Now is the time on Sprockets when I feel as old as DIRT

November 11, 2008 at 7:00 am Leave a comment

One of the reasons I vacated this area in the first place was that it’s so stinkin small. Seriously. This place is so tiny, it’s almost claustrophobic. It’s impossible to hide yourself in any way, shape or form. That’s what I loved about SoCal. It was easy to hide myself among the tons of people who looked just like me. Well, here, not so much. Prime example:

The other night I went to the Co-Op for meat and things for lunches for the week. It’s so much better than going to Price Chopper or Hannaford. Plus, it gives me the bonus of catching up with my deli pusher who is a (gulp) Rangers fan. Sad, sad, sad…but I digress.

So, I’m parusing the frozen meat case-all sorts of goodies at good prices-yummy premade burger patties, thin sliced steak for sandwiches, chicken…and I look up and notice someone. I’m looking at her, she’s looking at me…and we both know we know each other, but the question is WHERE did we know each other from..

Well, we start asking questions, and I ask her if she’s got kids…and then, out of nowhere, I pop out with her youngest’s name-and that I taught him swimming…when he was 4. I was working at the Jewish Community Center before I moved to SoCal. Wow.

We spent some time catching up,and she saw pics of the Monkey who she couldn’t believe was 4.

It was tears and Oh, my good lord’s all around.

 

I had both of her kids in swmming…and it feels like yesterday that I was in the pool EVERY stinkin day teaching, to the point where my hair was fried and I smelled like chlorine permanently.

 

Wow. When did I get older. When did my swimming kiddles grow up and end up in high school.

 

Pass the stop growing brick, please!

Entry filed under: wow.

Post Election wrap up Green Apron Tales-Newbies! Newbies! Newbies!

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,684 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

