A parent’s lament

December 26, 2008 at 4:12 am 2 comments

Holiday time is normally a lot of fun…and I attempt to keep it that way in my house despite the Scrooge that lives with me and his anti-decorating ways.

But one huge headache looms every stinkin Christmas. That is the packaging the toys come in. It takes an act of congress to even think of getting them open. I think I used more impliments of destruction in opening the packages for the Star Wars Galactic Heroes than I have used EVER in opening a package.

Seriously. These things were not only encased in 3 layers of plastic, but they had these clear things holding them in, so when you THOUGHT you were done, you weren’t. You would try to pull out your Han Solo and it would spring back into the package.

Here come the impliments of destruction!

So, seriously companies-can you please try NOT to annoy parents on major holidays? Lighten the load of tags and things holding toys in packaging. I do not want to be messing around with a Phillip’s head trying to pull the Mach 5 out of its box while my child keeps asking if I’ve got it out yet. Argh!

Entry filed under: annoyances, holidays, parenting hell.

Green Apron tales-The 12 days of DTR Vacation Grading-or the perils of asking for a project before break

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sjsmart  |  December 29, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    Big kids toys come pretty hard to get in to also. I thought I was going to damage my portable hard drive because I had to literally chisel it out of the package…hard plastic stuff stinks.

    Reply
  • 2. mischief0617  |  January 2, 2009 at 8:51 am

    I have injured myself opening packages.

    We also usually open everything ahead of time, put in batteries, make sure it’s working. It keeps us up all night on Christmas Eve, but makes the morning a lot nicer.

    And, Amazon.com is actually doing something about it! They are working with manufacturers to get their stuff packaged in minimal packaging…since it isn’t going to sit on store shelves, it doesn’t need all the protection. The available stuff is pretty limited right now, but they are working on getting more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,798 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

