Kindergarten? Already?

January 3, 2009 at 7:08 pm 2 comments

Here we go again…more f un with East Nowhere School district!

Let me get this out in teh open-the school district I live in is considered “Premier.” Personally, based on interactions with the dipwad CSE/CPSE chairperson, I’m not impressed. I see a regular, dysfunctional school district that has yet to really impress me.

The other day, an envelope came in the mail from the school district. Lovely. My first reaction? What now. Envelopes from the school district are never good.

It was a KINDERGARTEN REGISTRATION FORM. Oh, and did I mention it arrived on 1/2, and the registration day for Isaac’s assigned school is on 1/16, from 8:30-1?

COME ON!

First, I’m a working parent. It would foul up my classes if I even went in late, as my first class on Friday starts at 8:15. Oh, and I can’t leave early, because that fouls up the 8th graders. ARGH. So, problem!

The fact that this is a premier district has no bearing on the fact that they think that most parents of entering kdg-ers are stay at home moms. Nothing against Stay at home parents-cripes, I was one for over a year. BUT, what do they expect us to do? What would they do if one of their teachers suddenly said “Well, I’m leaving for an hour, so I can register my kid for kdg!”

Yeah-that would go over like a few of my Jewish friends eating a ham and cheese sandwich.

Second, we haven’t even had Isaac’s IEP meeting-I don’t know if I’m going to have to send him where I work (or the other Catholic school near our house) or to the regular school. There is a program I heard about…and that’s out. Seriously out.

So, I’m now at a serious crossroads. I have to really decide my options for Isaac for next year. I’ve got him on the list for my school…and I’ve got to decide if I’m going to register him or not for Kdg in our school district.

I don’t know if it’s because my little guy is now a big guy who is doing things that they never gave him a chance to do in the beginning and wouldn’t be doing if I had taken their reccomendation for keeping him in the self contained classroom. OR if it’s that I’m scared of what I will/won’t get for Isaac.

I hate having to go in ready to fight for my child. It so shouldn’t  be this hard. I shouldn’t be near tears when I get asked what my plans are for Isaac next year…or even have to start the sentence with :

“well, if we get what we want…”

 

I didn’t want to think about this until May. Seriously.

Entry filed under: district incompetence, family, parenting hell, school, shrimper.

Green Apron Tales-Holy Schnikies! It’s COLD in here!! You know your kid has watched too many commercials when…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. marigold  |  January 8, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    {huggs}

    don’t think about it until May. Even if you miss their “registration night”, they’ll still enroll him if that’s what you decide is best for him. really. What would they do if you had just moved into town? right! This is just for their convenience, not the parents’, unfortunately.

    Reply
  • 2. Jennifer  |  January 22, 2009 at 9:37 am

    I know I’m entering the game late–post registration, but let me add my two cents. Enroll the little guy now. Get him on the school list. Better to have a place for him then get locked out–which happens all the time in Niskayuna. The enrollment–which I had to take a day off for and it really pissed me off–takes all of 15 minutes. And, is totally stupid and unecessary. Call the school and see if you can pop in before classes to do it. Don’t take time off!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,685 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

