Maybe I’m just a smidge bitter…

January 9, 2009 at 9:50 am 1 comment

It’s been back to the normal grind-teach 2.5 days, the bux 2-3 days. It was kinda nice having people ask me where I’ve been…and then going “Oh, wait! you went back to the OTHER place!” I had one even ask me if it was another ‘bux. No. No…I can only take the one I’m at. Seriously.

So, let’s get into Wednesday. I woke up to a nice little snow and freezing rain storm. I went and chipped off the  car and got into it to drive to the bux. I had to open, so the alarm went off at an obscene hour.

Well, since we had that nice storm going, all of the schools went down. Including the one I work at…as well as Isaac’s!

So, there I am, slinging coffee, while my students, the rest of my fellow teachers and even my son are lounging in their PJ’s, contemplating when th ey’re going to get out and shovel and break up ice. Yeah…great.

So, while I’m slinging coffee, one of my regulars comes in. Her line?

“So, how bitter are you that you don’t get the snow day?”

Yeah. I wasn’t thinking about that until she said it.

So, I guess I’m just a smidge bitter that I had to get up at 3:30 am, scrape the car, nearly kill myself going to work-nearly getting run over by a taxicab, and then having to open, and deal wtih the “specials” of the world on the DTR.

Well, at least I had the 2 hour delay on Monday. Good, but not as good as a snow day.

Entry filed under: green apron, school.

You know your kid has watched too many commercials when… Sesame Street on Fridays-the culturally enriching version

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. mischief0617  |  January 21, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    That’s nearly as bad as the old standby stupid line “Cold enough for ya?”

    Ugh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,716 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

