Green Apron Tales-A victim of the economy

March 20, 2009 at 9:58 am 2 comments

So, as everyone knows, the economy is in the toilet, thanks to our last president. So, I was wondering when it was going to hit me here in East Nowhere.

 

Well, it finally has.

 

With my availability, I meet the requirements for employment with the ‘Bux, but Big W was told by our regional manager that one more position needed to be cut. They cut my running and screaming partner…and that guy. MP transferred to Hawaii, the shift who trained me transferred to CT, and that left just me with the low availability and the possiblity of being cut.

 

So, after hemming and hawing this week, I came to the conclusion that Big W couldn’t pull the trigger. He’s totally not comfortable with letting people go, especially if their performance reviews are good and they are decent employees. Yeah, that’s the category I fall into.

So, I pulled the trigger for him. I figured that I’d save him the awkward moment of letting me go, and just do it for him.

 

So, we’ll see what happens from here. I’m totally re-hirable, and I’ve got one more week of slinging coffee after this one.

But what I can say the bright spot in all of this is-I can finally have a few days off and stop working 6-7 day weeks. AND I won’t have to deal with the warming oven.

 

There is another adventure in the wings, but I’m not going to say anything about that until everything is locked, loaded and ready to go.

Entry filed under: green apron.

ok, so Slumdog Millionaire I’m not-I’m more of a Bend it Like Beckham Girl.. For cripe’s sake.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Misty  |  March 21, 2009 at 12:32 am

    ok now i wanna know the adventure! you better call!! 🙂 O wait! it’s at home depot isn’t it?!

    Reply
  • 2. Elmo  |  March 22, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    Sounds like the bux is shooting it’s self in the foot. The have been cutting jobs, closing stores since last year and nothing is improving yet. They still see it necessary to cut jobs…. It would not surprise me to find out they go bankrupt or anything like that. Oh well, hope your adventure is something that will benefit you in more ways than they did!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,685 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

