On the list of things I swore I’d never do as a parent

April 1, 2009 at 5:56 am 1 comment

One major thing was send my child to Catholic School.

 

Yet, here I am contemplating sending my child to one by our house instead of the local public school district. I supposedly live in one of the best school districts in the area, but how can that be when they don’t have full day kindergarten?  I just can’t see that as a plus-let’s just do half days so we can stress the kids out further, earlier in their educational career! 

So, after some searching, a lot of tears and a lot of arguments with Isaac’s current school (one of the therapists went off the deep end when I said I was considering private school-par for the course with her-she means well…), we’ve decided NOT to send him where I work, because I would have to teach him. Not an option for me NOT to teach him. Bad move. VERY bad move for lots of reasons. 

 

We’ve selected a small school by our house that’s actually in our district! WOOHOO! That just makes our lives that much easier, because we don’t have to contract with another district to provide services for Isaac. What makes things a lot easier is that the therapists at this particular school are on site, as they have 2 integrated pre-k’s there. I was offered the program there for Isaac, but said no, because it was only 2.5 hours. Not enough time in my opinion to really give a kid what they need. 

So, I’m at this “holy garbage” moment-I’m getting ready to send my kid to a Catholic School-what I swore I’d never do after I spent my middle school years in one-in a pink, maroon and grey uniform. Not kidding. 

 

So, where’s my spot in parenting hell for this one?

Entry filed under: parenting hell.

What ever happened to camp for the sake of having fun? So, y’all are going to tell me what to do now, right?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Betsy  |  April 1, 2009 at 8:11 am

    Far from parenting hell. In fact, quite the opposite. You found what Isaac needs. It just so happens that what he needs is in a catholic school. You are in fact lucky, most of the parochial schools in our area don’t have Spec. Ed services because they are not required (it has greatly limited Sis’ job search as she is a Spec. Ed. Administrator and is losing her job). Just think, no arguments when getting ready for school.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,773 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

