So, y’all are going to tell me what to do now, right?

April 1, 2009 at 5:03 pm 3 comments

Today, I went and visited the Catholic school by my house. Oh, my. That was an eye opener. A HUGE eye opener. I WANTED to love it. I WANTED Isaac to love  it too!

It was not at all what I expected. Not in the slightest. Isaac was not allowed to interact with the kindergarteners, even when they tried to engage him during their free play time. Then, we were asked several extremely jaw dropping questions about Isaac’s academic background, and WHY we were not selecting public school because of his IEP. 

 

And that was the least of the issues. The one kindergarten teacher was positively draconian in nature. It was not a kindergarten. It was a military march. 

 

Therefore, unless I fall head over heels for the new kdg teacher who will be starting in the fall, Isaac will NOT be attending this school. 

 

So, I’ve now called another private school to arrange for a tour and see what the deal is there.

I’m also looking at the public schools. 

 

But please, tell me what to do. I just need someone to make this all clear and tell me what to do!

Entry filed under: parenting hell.

On the list of things I swore I’d never do as a parent Overheard at the faculty meeting

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Betsy  |  April 1, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    I am not surprised at their comments about the IEP. Private schools are not required to offer special ed services. That should be your most important thing.

    Reply
  • 2. kileigh7  |  April 1, 2009 at 7:33 pm

    but the school district forces them to comply with IEPs and the school district would send in services. There were a lot of uneducated comments made by both the teacher (who should know better for loads of reasons that I know) and the recruitment director. I was more upset by the draconian nature of the teacher we saw. It wasn’t kindergarten, it was a police state.

    Reply
  • 3. TheAngelForever  |  April 1, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    As someone that worked in a private school, I am floored with the statement by the people. It is 2009 and the schools know that they will receive assistance from the district. There were many times that we questioned taking students with high needs that had IEPs, but we gave it a trial basis to see how the child would do in the environment with the added support.

    You know that I think you should take in as many tours as you can to keep all options open. It stinks that you have to deal with this, but at least you won’t have only one school on the plate.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,899 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

