Stupid Aetna.

April 11, 2009 at 8:08 am 1 comment

With the ‘bux, we had Aetna insurance. When I was let go, my insurance stopped. Normal procedure here. Not complaining about that. The one item we needed to jump on Doug’s insurance was what’s called a “certificate of coverage,” proving that we were all covered under my insurance and then lost it. 

Since my insurance ended 3/31, you’d figure that we’d have that doccument in our hands, oh, by the end of the first full week in April. Yeah, right. No such luck. So, since we’ve all got appointments coming up, and we know we can get the insurance, I made a phone call on Wednesday to Aetna to see where this stupid certificate was. 

Here is where my horrid luck kicks in. 

 

I get on the phone with Aetna, and they still have me active! What? Really? So, since they still have me as active, they can’t generate what I need. Ok, I can see that. So, they have me call partner services. I get on the phone with them and explain the situation. They tell me it can take up to 3 weeks to get this letter. So, since I’m not happy with this, I buck it to a supervisor who does a manual edit and tells me that she’ll call me when it gets updated at the Aetna level, and that’s all she can do, because from there, it’s Aetna’s issue. 

Ok. Fine. I can see that. She’s at least doing something….

Well, yesterday, I get the call from Partner Services that Aetna has updated their system and she conferences me in with Aetna. I could tell this was NOT going to be pretty by the tone of the CSR’s voice. His name was Melvin. Yes, I’m calling him out here, because he’s a jerk, and refused to do his job. So there. 

 

I explain the situation to Melvin, and how I need this certificate post haste, and the first thing he does is get snotty with me! He says “Well, since you have access to the secure server, and it was done on the 31st, it should BE there.” I politely explain that it hadn’t gone through, and I had checked the server,and since it was a manual update, it wasn’t there yet. He asks me, snippily, if I can hold. I told him not too long, as I had to go get my son. (I had Isaac at day care for the morning, and had to get him before the 5 hour mark was up…or I’d get charged extra….don’t want extra charges!!) So, he comes back and says, attitude intact, that it can take 10-14 days to get up on the site, because it hasn’t been generated yet, and HOPEFULLY, they can get it sooner.

 

This is where I started to lose it. Just for the record, I kept my cool as long as I possibly could.

 

I told Melvin that this was unacceptable and that something needed to be done now, as we were attempting to get coverage under another health plan. We had done what WE needed to do, and that Aetna was holding up the works.

 

Melvin continued to stall and when I told him that something HAD to be done and I had to have this in my hand by Monday, he said this: “You best watch your tone with me.”

 

Then, I fully lost it. I told him that I wanted his supervisor now, and that he was not to talk to me any further, except to say yes, I’ll get my supervisor.

So, the jerk puts me on hold. He comes back 5 minutes later, saying that his supervisor is busy and that I could have their voicemail if I wanted.

No, I want the human. So, I told him that voicemail was unacceptable, and that I wanted a human now. This is not an option, as this matter needed some attention, and he was refusing to do anything to help me. The jerk put me on hold for 20 minutes. Yes, 20 minutes, than disconnected me.

So, I went and got Isaac.

Then, I came back and while Doug took the small fry outside, I called Aetna back. I get on the phone with another CSR, Jill, and explain the situation, and Melvin’s appaling behavior.  In the span of the 5 minutes I was on the phone with Jill, she was able to generate the paperwork I needed from her computer, EMAIL IT TO ME and wait while I checked my email and printed it to make sure it worked. She was also able to lodge a complaint about Melvin and his lack of service, and the supervisor that he didn’t get/wouldn’t come to the phone. 

Needless to say, even with the huge headache I had after dealing with Aetna, I have what I need and we can have all of the paperwork into Doug’s HR by Monday morning. 

 

This should NOT have been this big of a debacle. Seriously. But then again…

Entry filed under: annoyances, cage rattling, customer service, ick.

Game Geeks-Can you just go away? So, has the director learned NOTHING?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Trisha  |  August 15, 2009 at 10:59 am

    I HATE aetna.
    It took nothing short of an act of God to get an answer as to why they weren’t covering the delivery charges for my first born. 10 months later and a small clims suit from my doc finally got them to say, “Oh, you aren’t covered for the doctor delivering at the hospital, just the appointments” instead of, “I can’t see any reason it shouldn’t be covered…let me send this to my supervisor and call you back within 5-7 business days.”
    Grrrrr.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,946 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

