It’s why I do what I do

April 22, 2009 at 11:50 pm 1 comment

Tuesday morning, I sat down at my computer to find an email that was sent to me from a friend… Not the kind of email that I wanted to get at oh, 8 am. 

It gave me the news that one of my favorite professors had passed suddenly. It shocked me to the core, as I had just seen him not too long ago, and he was just fine. We’d even had a few conversations about things, and he really wanted me back in the classroom, even though I’d given that up at that point. 

 

So, to Dr. Bogan-

Let me say this-

I do a lot of what I do in my classroom because of you. I make pig books-tell kids to get them going-be creative. I put stickers on papers. I hang perfect score awards on my walls. I spell pilgrim correctly. I color in one direction. I see the spark of curiosity in my students’ eyes and try to nurture that. I read stories to my classes, because you’re just never too old for that, or the stickers for that matter. I laugh at myself. I challenge myself to do better than I did the day before. I try to be fair. I challenge my students to do their best at all times and learn something new. I try to make my classroom a safe place for them to do that. I remember that some kids just do things at their own pace, and as long as that spark of curiosity is there, they’ll be JUST FINE. 

Most of all, when I need to really make sure I’ve made the right choice, I often think WWBD. What would Bogan do? That usually makes more sense in my brain than most of my other hair-brained choices. 

I’m sad that more students won’t get to know you. Know your laugh, know your jokes, hear your stories and marvel at the amount they learn because you make it so much FUN. You apply everything to the real world, not the perfect world. 

And just so you don’t get to thinking that the students you teach are the ONLY ones you make an impact on-my husband came across one of my accordion books the other day, and said to me: “Hey-what are you going to do with this Bogan project?  I can’t believe you kept it all these years! I remember the week you made this!” 

 

 

Dr. Bogan, it was an honor, and a blessing to be counted as one of your students. I’ll miss you.

Entry filed under: ick, musings, school, wow.

Headcount Woes, part 2 Special Needs and Kindergarten, take 1

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. TheAngelForever  |  April 23, 2009 at 9:26 am

    Sorry that I had to be the one that sent you the bad new. I truly wish I had been able to work my schedule to have one of his courses, but it did not work. Still thanks to him other professors changed what they did to be more interactive with us. He will always have an impact on the way things are done in the education arena in this are.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,886 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

