Special Needs and Kindergarten, take 1

April 24, 2009 at 2:29 pm 1 comment

For months, I’ve been banging my head against a brick wall with the school district to get in to see the classrooms, specifically a multi-age classroom that Isaac might be pegged for. I have been ATTEMPTING to keep an open mind, but this has been the height of insanity. I started asking to see the classrooms in December, hoping for a January /February visit date. This way, I would know what to push for, and what to tell them to shove up their collective behinds. I have gotten the royal runaround. I was told that first, I couldn’t visit the classrooms until after spring break, because if they let me, they’d have to let the other million parents that wanted to view come in, and that would just disrupt the flow. Then, they told me that I had to wait until the school psych visited Isaac in his current program, which they had NO PLANS to do until the director of the school and I pushed for them to do so. 

So, the talking heads at the school district finally decided that it was high time that they went and visited my child. The main reason we pushed for a visit, is that he’s very messy looking on paper. Seriously messy. So, now they’ve shown up. They did their visit over at his current school…and the director felt it went well. Now comes the part where I almost want to tear my hair out over and over and over again over…they don’t know WHERE to place my child. I’m so shocked over this. I think I’m going to have a heart attack and DIE from that knowledge.

 

Will I be allowed to FINALLY see the classrooms now that it’s after spring break, and the team has seen my child?
I left a message for the principal of the school that he is registered at. It was 2:45, and NO ONE picked up the office phone. Hrm. Sounds all sorts of fun and games already…

Entry filed under: district incompetence, Kindergarten!, parenting hell.

It’s why I do what I do Game Geeks-I don’t care WHAT Sony says!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. TheAngelForever  |  April 24, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    Hopefully they will call you back on Monday to schedule something. I know that at that time most of the schools are ready for dismissal and do not tend to answer the phone. Don’t judge on that . . . yet 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,684 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

