Special needs and kindergarten, take 2

April 30, 2009 at 8:39 am Leave a comment

After the mob visited Isaac at his current program, they informed me they wanted him to go through the kindergarten screening. 

Now, I’m reluctant to do this…remember the Catholic School visit fiasco? My child was a raving disaster for two days after. It was NOT pretty. Seriously NOT pretty.  I’m very afraid that he’ll fall apart, because he’s freaked out and not show all of his tricks to the evaluators. 

With all of this in mind, I get the date and time of the screening. It’s in 2 weeks, right through my work day. This means, because I work short hours due to Isaac’s school schedule on those days (Wed and Thurs) I have to take almost the entire day off, because it starts at 10:30, and will last approximately 2 hours. Oh, and according to the letter, we better be prompt. 

So, I’m not really too thrilled about this prospect. My kid has an IEP. He’s not dumb by any means, but has an IEP. He’s highly distractible, so if modifications are NOT made, he’s going to flounder. Argh. 

These are some of the things I’d love to talk to the principal about, if she’ll ever call me back. 

So, I’m gong to talk to the director of Isaac’s current school and see if we can bring some of the supports with us. You never know….

Entry filed under: parenting hell, school.

How to impress me Special Needs and Kindergarten, take 2.5

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,685 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

