Special Needs and Kindergarten, take 4

May 17, 2009 at 7:57 am Leave a comment

Round 4-which is ultimately close to the end, trust me on that one. My poor psyche and soul can’t take much more of this kindergarten drama. Sending your child off to Kindergarten should not be this hard or this drama ridden. Seriously!

So, let’s discuss the pertinent updates to this insane situation…
The past few weeks have been times of visiting and delusion on the part of some of the players involved. We’re going to do this bullet style!

  • I went to visit the K-2 program and at the same time, visited the rest of the public school. I was so unimpressed. The principal was as plastic and patronizing as I thought. Bah. 
  • The teachers in the k-2 room were amazing, but Isaac will NOT go in there. His peers next year in that room would be completely non verbal, unlike my darling child who is more verbal than the day is long. OY!
  • We have kindergarten screening next Thursday first thing in the morning. I’m not too thrilled with that…but, we’ll see what happens.
  • The people in the public school are delusional. They asked to get a doc’s appointment that is only 3.5 weeks away, moved up. Yeah, you try that with this doctor…
  • I went to visit the private Kdg twice-once with the school director (the one he’s at now) and once with Isaac. I was most impressed both times. 
  • It was nice to see Isaac WANT to stay at a kindergarten rather than run screaming as he did from the Catholic School Fiasco. 
  • This is an integrated program, where therapy is built into the day and they get specials-Spanish, Music, Art, PE. I’m all for that, because in a half day program, they would get NONE of that. NONE.
  • So, unless our inept school district (and I say that with all the love in my heart for these poor, deluded souls…) offers us something SPECTACULAR, we’re shelling out insane tuition for one more year. Hey-it’s one year. we can do anything for one school year. 
  • Did I mention my child was PARTICIPATING in answering questions during “shared literacy time” (that’s story time for those outside the educational buzzword circles…)

Oh, and to make matters more fun, we had to adjust Isaac’s IEP time. It was at a time I was teaching through, and I knew that if I asked for the time off, I’d be shot on sight. It’s the end of the year-lots to do, not a ton of time to do it all in. 

Thursday is screening, and who knows how that’s going to go.

 

this should not be this hard. Seriously.

Entry filed under: Kindergarten!.

Wordless Wednesday, 5/13/09 When Preschool and 8th grade collide…

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,901 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

