The backpack saga

July 25, 2009 at 10:53 pm Leave a comment

As if this kindergarten experience hasn’t been irritating enough, we’ve had to endure The Great Backpack Fiasco of 2009.

The one thing we were sure of this year was that we were going to get Isaac a new backpack for Kindergarten. It wasn’t an option. He’s had the same LL Bean backpack since 2 year old program! It’s this amazing pawprint camo, and is showing hardly any sign of wear…but this is kindergarten. Plus, he’s asked for a RED backpack.

Mom had this extra 10.00 bonus gift card from LL Bean, and wasn’t going to use it, so, she passed it our way. Hey-it made the backpack effectively half price! I can get behind that! We ordered it at the end of May, before all of the lists came out, because a backpack is a backpack and we frankly didn’t want to lose the coupon.

Based on a few reccomendations, we ordered the Junior pack, thinking that it woul make it through the first two years of public school. Plus, Isaac’s a peewee. He may be strong, but he’s pretty slight. We figured, based on both of our backpacking expertise, that this wouldn’t be overloaded and he wouldn’t go over.

Then the LIST came home. The  list that has been giving me nightmares. Stupid Crayola glue sticks anyone? But this isn’t about the stupid Crayola glue sticks..this is about the backpack.

The LIST stated that it had to be a “large” backpack. Yes, a large backpack. So, I get on the phone with the school and find out that the backpack that we’ve purchased IS NOT LARGE ENOUGH! Lord love a duck. First the stupid glue sticks and now this? Argh.

So, I call LL bean and tell the tale of the too-small backpack. I get told to bring it in, and they’ll swap it out for the next size up. I’ll just have to pay the difference. No biggie. Easy…or so I thought.

The first time I went, they didn’t have all of their packs in stock, and the size that I needed wasn’t there. I was told that the rest of the shipment would be in by the 21st, and the size I needed would most likely be in at that point. Ok. Fine. No biggie. I can get behind that.

So, on the 22nd,  I call the store to make sure that they have the proper pack in stock. I’m not running down there for no good reason, because we’re on the way to speech, and it was just supposed to be a fast pit stop. I get told that they have what I’m looking for, which was an original backpack in red. Just plain red. No camo, no sports patch. Just red.

I bring Isaac in with me, and start the search for the backpack. I find where they’ve got all of the packs, and I don’t see the original. I see the deluxe and the original plus, as well as rolling ones, critters and sport packs…and the dreaded junior pack.  NO originals. None.

So, I flag an associate down to help me-I ask her to point me in the right direction of the original book packs, and she gets on the radio asking for a JUNIOR pack. umm..no, that’s not what I wanted. I made that clear-I told her-I wanted an ORIGINAL pack, not a junior.

This is where I start beginning to smoke at the ears and see stars.

So, she gets the person who I talked to on the phone and that person starts in on me about how she didn’t know I wanted a JUNIOR pack-I cut her off, and told her I didn’t want a junior pack-I just wanted an original. Not a deluxe, not a super sport not a messenger bag, but an original. It’s just a small step up from the junior, and I wanted it in red for the small boy who was getting more and more antsy by the second.

She begins to go on this insane tirade about how I’m going to overload his backpack and ruin his bones, and how she would not even think of selling me a bigger backpack than the one I had in my hand. We went back and forth and back and forth and finally, we had to leave or Isaac would have been late for speech. I still had the dreaded junior pack and was just two tons of more confused than I walked in.

I let the junior pack sit in my car for the rest of the week. I couldn’t take another run in with LL Bean people who were trying to make me keep what I had in my hand that I knew wouldn’t fit the bill.

So, today, after our latest adventure with Lowe’s Build and Grow, I convinced Doug to make the trek, once again, this time, for the FINAL time in this escapade to LL Bean. I made him come in with me for moral support and I just decided-I wasn’t going to go to the backpack area until I had successfully returned the backpack and had the credit from the gift cards in hand. That’s all I wanted….if I ordered or not, that was a different story-who knows…

We had Isaac with us, so he could make the final call regarding his backpack. For cripe’s sake, this is HIS. He needs to have the final word.

So, I walk up to the register and tell them that I had ordered this pack and it wouldn’t hold all of what Isaac needed for school, so I needed to upgrade it. I paid for it with a gift card, so a gift card was just fine for the refund.

LET THE LECTURE BEGIN!!

Person at the register began to start the argument that this was the right sized pack, ect, ect. I told her I knew that, but, this wouldn’t hold everything we needed on a daily basis, and we just needed the original that was a step up from what we currently had. It wasn’t a big deal. So, I let her go through the motions of suggesting a critter pack and a sports pack, which I knew Isaac didn’t want. He just wanted a red backpack. Nothing fancy, just a red  backpack. I politely told her I would go peek at them, and she did my return.

I asked Isaac what he wanted- a critter pack (choice of shark or spider to match his lunch box..) and he said he wanted red.

I knew it. I don’t know why I even bothered asking…

So, I wandered over to the kiosk, and thank goodness, I didn’t need an employee to help me, as they’ve put a new function in that automatically does the freebie shipping thing.  I got the order done and then disaster hit…

The computer had my old addy in it! The one from when we first moved back here!
Oh, no, that backpack is NOT going near that old place! So, I had to grab an employee for damage control. They quickly picked up the phone and did that lovely damage control and changed the addy on the shipping thing so that it comes to my house now instead of the ghetto apartment.

The email confirmation said that it would be coming here…so, now we wait for the pack to show up and transfer the bag tag from his current pack and finally attach the dinosaur patch that he so wants on his red backpack.

I swear. I say this over and over and over again, but it’s so true-Kindergarten should NOT be this hard!

Entry filed under: insanity, Kindergarten!, parenting hell.

Oh, cool! Where I roll my eyes and attempt to move on

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,806 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

