Itch, itch, wheeze, wheeze

February 18, 2010 at 12:45 pm 1 comment

I am a huge walking medical nightmare. I swear. I spent a lot of time explaining to doctors that since I was adopted, I have NONE of my medical history, so asking me if my parents are healthy is kind of a moot point. So, since I have no knowledge, we’ve been extra careful with Isaac and even waited until he was 2 to introduce peanuts/peanut butter.

So, it’s almost no surprise to me that my body has begun to do the “revolt” thing. But what has happened over the last 3 days totally takes the cake in that department. Now, my body and I are officially at war.

Sunday night, I was laying on the couch, watching the Olympics (most likely hockey) and I was eating peanuts in the shell. Isaac and I were cracking them and eating them. Hey-we both like them and it’s good fine motor work.

I started to get a smidge itchy, wheezy and tingly lips. I didn’t really pay much attention to it all because I thought it was just my asthma kicking up. No biggie. Grab 2 benadryl and head to bed. Totally not a big deal.

I wrote the entire experience off until Tuesday.

Isaac had one of his classic pre-dawn wake up calls and we were laying on the couch. I figure if he’s going to wake me up, we’re going to do some work. He had asked for some peanuts and I made him work for them. I set him to cracking them and putting them in a bowl, where we both began eating them. Quickly, I began to feel tingly, wheezy and then whammo-the hives and itchies started.

I finally put two and two together and grabbed a few benadryl and my inhailer and set out to call the doc’s office when they opened in an hour or so. In that time, I was thinking more and more and more that this was the peanuts. I hadn’t eaten anything else, I hadn’t done anything else…no wrong detergent or anything…so, what else could it be?

SOOO, we all narrowed it down to peanuts. YIKES.

The sad thing is that when I talked to the doc and nurse, they’re all positive that allergies can develop later in life and this is nothing out of hte ordinary.

crap. I figured I’d at least get “well, we think it may be something else…” But NOOOOOOOOOOOO.

Dangit.
Sunflower butter, here I come.

Entry filed under: ick, ouchies.

What’s the deal with this IEP flip out? And the draft is here!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jen  |  February 19, 2010 at 8:12 am

    ANot a fun way to learn about an allergy! My kids like Sunbutter.

    -as I eat peanut butter on a bagel–

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,946 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

