Special needs and first grade, take 4-the report card and meeting

March 20, 2010 at 9:22 pm 3 comments

So, I bet you’re all wondering how the meeting went and if all of my twitching was worth it…

well…
it was.

We pretty much got what we wanted out of the district, except summer OT. I don’t understand why with Isaac’s scores that summer OT is out of the question,but it is.

The other good thing is that Isaac is at grade level in a lot of his subjects. Normally a parent would EXPECT this,but this is Isaac, and he tests like garbage and is so highly distracted that even if he knows the information, he has trouble getting it out. So, the fact that we got some decent scores in some subjects is just amazing to me.

Since I was highly concerned about the “coteaching” room next year (the school uses a consultant model of coteaching. Not sure if I like this or not….) I put in a call to Plastic Principal. She had a good 30 minute conversation with me about the time frame of Isaac being out of the classroom-there’s lots of things that he’s pulled out for-6 specific times for therapy.-and I don’t want him missing any of classroom life. Turns out my kid is the only “coteaching” kid and resource kid int he first grade. Seriously? How is this possible? Turns out the rest of the kids with special needs are in the k-2 room, and most won’t be pushing into first grade at all-they’ll be pushing into Kindergarten, because they can’t hack first grade. My kid? He can hack it.

So, interesting…very interesting.

we shall see what happens come September. Right now, my focus is getting through kindergarten in one solid piece.

Entry filed under: 1st Grade!, district incompetence, Kindergarten!, parenting hell, shrimper.

First Grade and special needs, takes 1-3… You know a conference is bad when…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. amey  |  March 21, 2010 at 1:42 am

    I find it odd that they don’t have penmanship goals for him. When Daniel did OT at 6 (7?) the OT did handwriting with him as part of fine motor stuff. I can dig out his goal sheet if you think it would help.

    FWIW, they used Handwriting Without Tears (which was created by an OT). The paper is a little different than traditional handwriting paper, but getting a ream of that is cheap enough. I think I still have the teacher version of the kindy and 1st grade books (my kids are doing cursive – I don’t know that Nicholas is exactly ready physically, but he REALLY wants to write in cursive) and that’s the 3rd book. Let me know if you want to look at them. I could send you a student book, but they’re consumable, so they’re all written in.

    Reply
  • 2. betsy  |  March 21, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    my sis is special ed administrator and worked in a number of co-teaching classrooms. she really believes that kids thrive in these environments.

    Reply
  • 3. Jen  |  March 22, 2010 at 8:32 am

    Overall, it sounds good. They think he’s doing well and you got most of what you wanted.

    The problem with summer OT. Was that ALL he was getting? My understanding is there is NO summer program this year for all but the most delayed children (ie. children that would probably qualify for the k-2 room). Austin always has summer school for support (to hopefully stop any regression) and even he isn’t getting it this year. I can only guess this is why he’s not getting summer OT services.

    I emailed you my phone number. I know you had more concerns, issues I don’t want to discuss here. Please feel free to call me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cool stuff

Get your own free Blogoversary button! Village of Moms

Blog Stats

  • 33,768 gawkers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

